Skip to main content

Media Resources

A guide to locating and using video and other media online, and information to help you create your own media

Here's what's new:

Check out our new Media Guide!

Watch Lesley Videos Online!

The library now offers thousands of online videos! These include hundreds of the videos in our DVD and Videotape collection, as well as many, many more. You can access them through licensed video databases, vendor video streaming sites and online video sites free to the public.

Access to our online videos will vary, depending on the source. Here are some places to find our videos online:

 

Films Media Group (FMG) Videos - Check the box to the right, "Lesley Videos Licensed through FMG", for more information about this collection and a list of titles. Most titles are on education topics ------>  

Media Education Foundation (MEF) Media Studies and Communication Collection - NEW! A collection of about 70 videos on media literacy and representations of race and gender in the media.

 New Day  Digital Videos  Select videos from New Day Films on education and social issues now online.

  Videatives Streaming Service - Digital Video Clips for Early Childhood Education Over 150 video clips and text with embedded video ("videatives") featuring young children (ages 0-7) in various educational settings.

Online Video Subject Collections: Online subject video collections licensed by the library from Alexander Street press. Make your own clips and playlists! Check the box below.

PBS Programs

Annenberg Media Programs

National Film Board of Canada (NFB)

SnagFilms

Hulu

 

LIBRARY ONLINE VIDEO DATABASES/SUBJECT COLLECTIONS

The library now subscribes to a number of different video databases offering thousands of online videos in a number of subject areas. Over 100 of the videos in the Library's physical collection can be viewed online through these databases, in addition to hundreds, or in some cases, thousands, of other videos on these topics.

Access the databases by clicking one of the links below:

New Collection! - Media Education Foundation

PBS Frontline, NOVA and Other PBS Videos Online

Many of the Lesley Library's videos from the PBS Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, and Great Performances series (as well as many other programs from these series and others) are available to watch online.

Frontline videos can be found here:

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/view/

NOVA videos can be found here:

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/programs/

American Experience videos can be found here:

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/onlineFilms/

Great Performances can be found here:

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/gperf/category/video/

 

Direct links to specific titles in our collection appear below:

QUICK LINKS FOR LESLEY'S ONLINE VIDEOS

Need a quick way to see what which of our DVDs and videotapes are online? Want to know ALL the videos we have online? See the links below.

Library Videos Licensed through Films Media Group (FMG) - Films on Demand!

The Library has licensed some of it's videos from Films Media Group (FMG) to make them available online to the Lesley community.  Direct links are available below.  You must be signed into myLesley for off-campus access.

 NOTE: TILES IN THIS COLLECTION NOW INCLUDE INTERACTIVE TRANSCRIPTS!  TRY THEM OUT BY CLICKING A TITLE BELOW.

All titles in this collection include closed captioning or English subtitles. Look for the roll over option in the top right hand corner of the video.

JUST CLICK ON A TITLE BELOW TO VIEW IT.

 

NEW DAY DIGITAL VIDEOS

                                                               

CHANGE AS OF 1/18/13 - YOU NOW HAVE THE OPTION TO LINK TO INDIVIDUAL VIDEOS AS WELL AS THE COLLECTION LIST PAGE!  

NOW WHEN YOU CLICK THE NEW DAY DIGITAL LINK BELOW, YOU CAN CLICK ON A TITLE AND HAVE IT OPEN IN A SEPARATE PAGE AND PLAYER - USE THE PROXY PREFIX IN FRONT OF THE URL IN THE ADDRESS BAR TO SHARE IN BLACKBOARD.

The library has licensed 13 of our videos on education and social issues from New Day Films for viewing online through New Day Digital. See individual tiles and direct links in the box below.

 

New Day Digital - Individual Title Links

The New Day Digital online video collection now offers links to individual videos. For direct links to the videos from this collection that the university has licensed, click a title link below. Titles followed by (CC) indicate that they have a closed caption option.

Animation from National Film Board of Canada

The following animated videos in the Lesley Library and AIB collections can be found at the National Film Board of Canada's "Focus on Animation" site:

Bully Dance

Dinner for Two

Neighbors  (LUCAD)

Notes on a Triangle

 

Check the site here for these and 70 or so other animated films. Some offer closed captioning.

 

The following animated films at LUCAD can be found at the National Film Board of Canada main stie:

 

The Big Snit 

The Cat Came Back - in HD

My Grandmother Ironed the Kings Shirts

Strange Invaders

When the Day Breaks

 

Check this site for these and many other films from the National Film Board of Canada now online!

Videos from Annenberg Media

The Library has many Annenberg Media titles in it's collection. Most of these demonstrate excellent teaching or feature courses in literature, art, science and more.

All Annenberg titles are available to watch online free at the Annenberg Media website: http://www.learner.org.

Sample Annenberg titles in the Library's collection (and online) include:

The Arts in Every Classroom

Connecting with the Arts

Discovering Psychology

Engaging with Literature

The Learning Classroom

Learning Science through Inquiry

Minds of Our Own

Mathematics Illuminated

A Private Universe

Teaching Reading 3-5

...and many, many more!

NEW! Videatives - Digital Video Clips for Early Childhood

 

Lesley now has access to over 200 online video clips and "videatives" (text with embedded video) featuring young children (infants through age 7) in various educational settings. Search by subject or age group. Faculty can also create their own playlists to assign to students.

Documentaries from SnagFilms

The following documentaries from the library collection are available to watch free online at SnagFilms. Unfortunately, they do include commercial breaks, but you can watch for free, as well as share the videos on various websites. You can watch the following library videos, as well as many other documentaries on this site! 

Find More Videos Online

Looking for more online videos? Try the tab Other Videos/Media Online for more online videos, including programs beyond the Lesley DVD and Video collection, organized by subject.

Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization