Skip to main content

Special Education

includes special needs, gifted and talented.

CHECK FOR FULL-TEXT

Check for full-text

 

Recognize this pesky message? Follow this link in the databases to get full-text articles...

  • in other databases
  • free from the publisher
  • at Sherrill Library
  • or through Interlibrary Loan.

E-BOOK DATABASES

NEW! Cyber-Bullying Resources from ebrary. This is free! You may share the link with friends, family and colleagues.

SEARCH TIPS

Searchpath Library Tutorial - Sharpen Your Research Skills

Searchpath opening page

Module 2: Choosing a Topic - how to refine your search for better results.

Module 4: Finding Articles - how to search a library database

ARTICLE DATABASES IN EDUCATION

Use the Best Search Terms

Let the database thesaurus be your guide!

Many databases offer a Thesaurus or dictionary of subject terms. Look for the link at the top of the database screen. You will also see subject terms on the side of the results screen or on the abstract screen. Here are some examples:

  • academic achievement
  • assessment OR evaluation
  • educational history (for history of education)
  • teacher attitudes (for opinions, point of view, concerns, etc.)
  • (controvers* OR opposition OR challenge OR advantage OR disadvantage OR debate) for "pros and cons"

    ERIC: Search the Database

    Sample Search:  (technology integration OR educational technology) AND teaching methods AND (elementary education OR secondary education OR middle school OR early childhood)

    Sample Search:  inclusive schools and (controvers* OR opposition OR challenge OR advantage OR disadvantage OR debate)

    ProQuest Education Journals: Search the Database

    Sample Search: (su("english as a second language" OR "bilingual education") AND "academic achievement")

    Library & Research Help

     
    Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
    Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization