The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization [...] providing immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States.
The U.S. Census Bureau has supplied global subnational data for five decades. The essential role of population data in humanitarian relief and disaster planning was described in a 2007 National Research Council report.
Provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture. Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.
The Culturosity® concept grew out of the recognition of the need for intercultural awareness in mainstream society and the power of pop culture as a communication channel. We realize it's hard to compete with music, movies, books and leisure activities when it comes to people's attention and free time. Yet we know it's essential that more people start learning about other cultures and developing the skills to work in a multicultural environment.
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community
Presents research and facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. Covers the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact on children and adolescents.
This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. An excellent resource for those interested in improving their awareness and comprehension of cultural practices prevalent among and between all people.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
This is the first reference work to focus on the developmental process of religion and spirituality across the human life span. Spiritual development is an important part of human development that has links to identity development, moral development, and civic engagement. This encyclopedia offers insight into the characteristics of people and their contexts that interact to influence religious and spiritual development over time.
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.