Skip to main content

Library Services for Alumni

Online Video Sources

Sites for Innovative Teaching Ideas and Materials

Annenberg Media
Annenberg offers educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. There are also videos featuring content appropriate for high school and college classes. Almost all Annenberg programs can be viewed on their website either as they are being broadcast via the Annenberg/CPB Channel or through “Video On Demand.” Programs can be searched by discipline, grade level or keyword. Windows Media Player and free registration for first time users are required to view videos.

Edutopia
This site, put out by the George Lucas Educational Foundation, looks at models of innovative practices in K-12 public schools. The site includes over 150 online videos (choose " Video" from the menu on the left side of the web page) featuring short documentaries and interviews with experts on educational topics. Links to related articles are also included. Sample topics include: Project-Based Learning, Emotional Intelligence, Technology Integration and Assessment. Most videos offer a choice of viewing with QuickTime or Windows Media Player, or an audio only option.

PBS Online
PBS has selected programs from a number of their video series available for online viewing, including NOVA, Frontline, Scientific American Frontiers, NewsHour, and Wide Angle. Go to the individual series website from the main PBS site and look for the “Watch Online” or “Video Archives” options. Viewing options vary by series and can include Real Player, Windows Media Player and/or QuickTime options.

PBS Teachers
Multi-format educational resources for preK-12 teachers. Includes thousands of lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video clips, and interactive games, as well as professional development opportunities for teachers. Divided by subject. Many subject areas include links to online video of related PBS programs.

TeacherTube
Officially launched in March 2007, TeacherTube , a free service, provides an online community for sharing instructional videos for teachers, schools and home learners. Members of the community can also post videos designed for student learning, along with related support materials such as lesson plans and activities.

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Online Learning and Teaching)
Peer-reviewed online teaching and learning materials primarily for higher education, available in a variety of formats, including video. Many assignments also included.

Sites for Historical Video

American Memory Collection
This historical collection from the Library of Congress includes primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Moving images are included among the available formats. The above link will take you to the Browse Collections page. Choose Browse Collections Containing: Motion Pictures (direct link: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/ListSome.php?format=Motion+Picture) to find a list of moving images available for viewing online. Formats available for motion pictures include MPEG, QuickTime and Real Media.

History Channel Video Gallery
Includes historical speeches and other footage in video and audio formats.

The Living Room Candidate
This site offers an online exhibition presenting more than 250 television presidential campaign commercials from every election year from 1952 through 2004. The site includes a searchable database and features commentary, historical background, and election results. Navigation is organized by both year and theme. Requires Windows Media Player or Real Player.

Internet Movie Archive
The Internet Archive has the purpose of “offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.” Their collection of moving digital images is “free and open for everyone to use.” Among its collections are the Prelinger Archives of ephemeral (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films, public domain feature films, open source movies, a video archive of Election 2004, Universal Newsreels, and many others.

Educational Lectures Online

MITWorld
MITWorld is a free, open streaming media web site of the most significant public events at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It features unedited, unmodified videos of the most recent speakers and guests from across the campus and around the world. Video content can be searched by keyword, or browsed by sponsoring department hosts. Approximately 90 videos are added each year. RealPlayer is required.

WGBH Forum Network
Live and archived webcasts (audio and video streaming) of free public lectures by the world’s foremost scholars, authors, artists and social leaders that take place around the Greater Boston area. The content can be browsed by category (examples: Education, Health, Poetry and Science and Technology) or organizations/partners (examples: Cambridge Forum, MIT, the Harvard Graduate School of Education, etc). There is also an option to search for lecture topics by keyword. RealPlayer is required to view the lectures. The site also now includes podcasts.

University of California at Berkeley on YouTube
Videos from campus seminars, courses and events at UC Berkeley.

The Research Channel
“ReasearchChannel is nonprofit media and technology organization that connects a global audience with the research and academic institutions whose developments, insights and discoveries affect our lives and futures.” Includes over 3,000 videos in areas such as the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Health, K-12 Education, Business and Economics, and Sciences. Windows Media Player or QuickTime required.

Just for Fun…

National Film Board of Canada: Focus on Animation
Includes 50 animated films from National Film Board of Canada, including some classics. They are available to watch in Flash or QuickTime format. These can be searched by title, director, date and closed captioned or described video titles. The library has a small number of these in its video collection, but you can view all fifty of the videos here!

Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization