Skip to main content

Endnote Online

Import from EBSCO Databases

EBSCO Databases – Academic Search Premier, Art Fulltext, Art Index Retro, ERIC, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, PsycBooks, SocIndex, Medline, MLA Bibliography, Alt HealthWatch, Humanities International Complete, Communication & Mass Media

  • Turn off your web browser popup blocker!!
  • Perform a search in the database.  Add the item(s) you want to a folder. 
  • Go to the Folder has items box on the right and click Folder view. Click the check box(s) to select the items for export.
  • Click Export and choose Direct Export to Endnote Web.  Click the blue Save button on the left of the screen. If you’re not already logged into your Endnote Online account, you will be prompted to do so.
  • Choose the My References tab in Endnote Online.  Your references will automatically be saved to your unfiled group.
  • Check the references for accuracy.  Clean up any reference type, date, or capitalization mistakes, stray characters, etc.
  • Choose the group where you'd like the reference saved.

Import from Proquest Databases

ProQuest Databases - Proquest Central, Proquest Education Journals, Digital Dissertations & Theses

  • Turn off your web browser popup blocker!
  • Perform a search in the database.  Click the checkboxes of the items you want. 
  • Choose Export/Save Items from right hand menu.
  • Select Output to Endnote as the Output Style.
  • Click Continue
  • Save the file to your desktop.
  • Go to your Endnote Online account.
  • Choose Import References from the Collect tab.
    • Step 1:  Browse to find your file and open the file
    • Step 2:  Select the Proquest import filter.
    • Step 3:  Select Unfiled in the TO: dropdown list.
    • Step 4:  Click Import.
    • Step 5:  Check the references for accuracy.  Clean up any reference type, date or capitalization mistakes, stray characters, etc. 
    • Step 6:  Choose the group where you'd like the reference(s) saved

Import from Galegroup Databases

Galegroup Databases – Academic Onefile, Expanded Academic, General BusinessFile, Health Reference Center

  • Turn off your web browser popup blocker!!
  • Perform a search in the database.  Click the checkboxes of the items you want. 
  • Select Marked Items from the top menu
  • Select Citation Tools from the left hand box.
  • Choose Plain Text with Bibliographic Tags (Z39.50) and click Save.
  • At the next window, choose Open, NOT save!!
  • Choose File, then Save As
  • Name the file, and change the Save as type to Text, then click Save.
  • Go to your Endnote Web account.
  • Choose Import References from the Collect tab.
    • Step 1: Browse to find your file and open the file
    • Step 2: Select the InfoTrac(Gale) import filter
    • Step 3: Click Import.  All references are imported to the unfiled group
    • Step 4: Check the references for accuracy.  Clean up any reference type, date, or capitalization mistakes, stray characters, etc.
    • Step 5: Choose the group where you'd like the reference saved.
Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization