Library & Research Help
- Research Help:
Ask Us! - Email:
asklib@lesley.edu
Guide Author
Featured Film
- A Simple Matter of Justice "This video expresses all the emotions of the joyful protest that was the 1993 March on Washington. Sections on civil rights, AIDS and health care, the military and our families are beautifully woven together from coverage of the incredible music, comedy, speeches and marchers of the weekend. A Simple Matter of Justice is a powerful and moving piece on the state of the lesbian, gay and bisexual movement today." Events featured: The wedding, the Dyke March, Holocaust Memorial Ceremony, ACT UP Hands around the capitol, Interfaith Service at the National Cathedral, Reunion of African American veterans, Sing out on the capitol steps, Health Care civil disobedience.
Streaming Video
"LGBT Studies in Video (Alexander Street) is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. LGBT Studies in Video provides students and researchers across disciplines a multi-content perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. It also provides key resources of interest to students and researchers in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies."
Other Featured Titles Available in the Library Collections
Diversity and Multiple Identities (DVD)
Discusses the conflicting allegiances faced by gay, lesbian and bisexual people of color. These people face conflicts between their ethnic, sexual and social identities, and therapists need to recognize these needs during treatment. Includes commentary by Dr. Beverly Green and other experts. Also includes a reenactment of a cross-cultural therapy session.
Call Number: Reserve at the Sherrill Library
Dangerous Living: Coming Out in the Developing World (DVD)
(Includes public performance rights for groups of 50 or less) Relays personal "coming out" stoires of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in the developing world, and covers their struggles for human rights in the face of oppression.
Call Number: Reserve at the Sherrill Library
Anyone and Everyone (DVD)
Connected by having a son or daughter who is gay, parents across the country discuss their experiences ... Individuals from such diverse origins as Japanese, Bolivian, and Cherokee; as well as religions such as Mormon, Catholic, Hindus and others, share intimate accounts of how their children revealed that they're homosexual and discuss their responses. The parents also talk about struggling with the pain their sons and daughters have dealt with, such as not being accepted by relatives and/or friends and being ostracized by religious congregations.
Call Number: Reserve at the Sherrill Library
Further off the Straight and Narrow: New Gay Visibility on Television 1998-2006 (DVD)
This video looks at the representation of portrayals of GLBT characters from 1998-2006 and is a follow up to the eariler video, Off the Straight and Narrow. Surveys network dramas, sitcoms, reality shows, and premium cable programming to show how the portrayal of GLBT characters is often marked by ambivalence and tension. The film cautions that although GLBT characters and plotlines have become more prevalent and complex in recent years, the images and stories portrayed continue to be shaped by narrow commercial imperatives. The film argues that the evolution of GLBT representations should be seen as a recognition of GLBT consumers and gay taste by advertisers rather than as a sign that the struggle for gay equality has been won. Optional English subtitles. The library also has the earlier video, Off the Straight and Narrow.
Call Number: Reserve at the Sherrill Library
Reserving Videos
The Lesley Library video collection is available to Lesley faculty, staff and current students. Same day pick up is available at the Sherrill Library on the South Campus only. Videos must be booked in advance for pick up at the DOBLE/Quad Campus or University Hall/Porter Campus.
Video Pickup and Delivery Options:
SHERRILL LIBRARY on the South Campus During library hours (Same day pick up available)
DOBLE Mailroom - M-F 8 AM - 6 PM (three business days notice required - closed weekends)
UNIVERSITY HALL - VIDEO PICK-UP NOW AVAILABLE M-F FROM 11 AM - 4 PM IN ROOM 3-048 (three business days notice required - closed weekends)
For same day pick up at the Sherrill Library, you can also choose to stop by the Sherrill circulation desk, but advance reservations are recommended to guarantee availability.
Moriarty videos must be requested and picked up at that location.
Video Reservations: Call 617-349-8850 or use the Online Video Reservation form