Search: medical error
Conducting this search without quotation marks retrieves results with those two words anywhere in the document.
Search: "medical error"
Conducting this search with quotation marks retrieves results only with that exact phrase.
This search will retrieve results with Mexico, Mexican, and Mexicans.
|Web Search Tips||
Database Search Tips
|Catalog Search Tips|
|Keep it simple! Start by typing the name of a relevant thing, place, or concept.
Add relevant words if you don't see what you want after doing a simple search.
It may take several attempts to find the right words to describe your search.
Try words that a website would use to describe what you're looking for.
Not ideal: [country where bats are an omen of good luck]
Better: [bats good luck]
Source: Google Basic Search Help
More web search help: Google Tips & Tricks
|Too many results:
Start small! Begin with just one or a few search terms. Add additional terms if you have too many results.
Too few search terms - If you only have one general term in the search box, consider adding another term that relates to the topic you are interested in.
Use limiters - Limiters (such as date and format) give you more targeted results.
Topic is too broad - Narrow the scope of your search. Think about the different aspects of your topic you will address and search for them separately. Then synthesize the information. You may need to narrow your topic if it is too large to cover in a short paper.
Too few results:
Is this the best database for your topic? If you are using a subject-specific database (education, psychology, etc.), try a multidisciplinary database like Academic Search Premier or a specialized search engine like Google Scholar. Be prepared to try several different databases. If you need a discipline/topic-specific database, try the Subject Guides or Databases List, which allow you to browse Databases by subject.
Use good search terms - Check spelling, and brainstorm synonyms or related terms. You can use OR between synonyms (for example salary OR pay OR compensation) to increase the number of results.
Too many search terms - If you have three or more search terms, try removing one to see if your results improve.
Too many limiters - Use only limiters that are absolutely necessary.
Your topic is too narrow - What is the broader theme of your topic? Break your topic down and search for different parts separately. Then synthesize the information you find.
Looking for books, print journals, or media? Search FLO, the library's catalog that indexes these types of items or search @LL Search and limit to books, ebooks, video, etc. using the limiters in the left-side menu.
Can you use a limiter to focus your results? Use the facets on the left side of the search results page to limit by subject, author, language, etc.
Looking for a specific article? Copy and paste the article's full citation, author, or title into @LL Search. If it's not there, be sure to check the ProQuest databases too, because material there doesn't always appear in @LL Search Results.
Or if you use Google Scholar and add "Lesley University" to your Google Scholar Library Links (under "Settings") you can search for articles and include Lesley Library's collection. If you see Find It at Lesley next to the citation, then we have it.
Looking for Course Reserves for a reading for class? Find your Course Reserves here.
Sherrill Library | Lesley University, Brattle Campus | 89 Brattle Street - Cambridge, MA 02138 | 617-349-8850
John & Carol Moriarty Library | Lesley University, Porter Campus | 1801 Massachusetts Avenue - Cambridge, MA 02140 | 617-349-8070