Special Needs Education

Anderson Cooper details a study that seeks to gain insight into the way black and white children perceive each other.

The Sherrill Library has a special resource for educators, therapists, counselors to use called the Teaching Resource Center, which is a collection of manipulatives, textbooks, picture books, leveled readers and juvenile fiction and non fiction.

The most effective way to search the collection is to go to the FLO catalog, select the "Advanced Search" option and scroll down the "Location" tab option to find "Lesley-Sherrill Teaching Resources Collection".  Once you have that highlighted, go back above to the search box and start!

Manipulatives refer to various objects or materials that students can touch and move around in order to help them learn key educational or social/emotional concepts.

Hand in hand [kit] : multicultural experiences for young children.  Description: 9 student books, 1 teacher's book, 1 poster : col.
Summary: "Hand in hand : multicultural experiences for young children offers teachers of three-to-eight-years-olds multicultural, multilingual and multiracial experiences and activities"

A chorus of cultures [kit] : developing literacy through multicultural poetry.  Big book poetry charts and 5 student books., in bag

Cultural rainbow [picture] : an American alphabet.   Activities for use in grades 1-7 to assist in promotion of better understanding of cultural diversity and feelings of self-esteem and racial pride. Each letter is represented by a color picture and a short paragraph explaining the subject.

Children of the world poster pack [study print].  Each poster depicts children of a different land. The teacher's guide contains questions and cultural information to spark discussion, writing projects, and more.  Format:Visual Material.  Contents:20 prints include: United States, Tanzania, China, Mexico, Ireland, India, Guatemala, France, Thailand, Ecuador, Switzerland, Australia, Brazil, Spain, Bahamas, Russia, Egypt, and Japan

Lesley University Lesson Plan Templates

Lesley New Teacher Community Blog - Lesson Planning

Other Lesson Plan Resources

           Library of Congress Classroom Materials

           Backwards by Design Templates

           Smithsonian Educators: Prepare, Plan, Teach - Lessons and activities by grade, subject, and state standard.

Search these databases for journal articles with critical reviews of tests and their uses:

ERIC (EBSCO) - education - Search the database

   Sample Search: KeyMath or Key Math

   Sample Search: autis* and intelligence tests

PsycINFO (EBSCO) - psychology - Search the database

    Sample Search: Beck anxiety inventory and (test validity or test reliability)

   Sample Search: Suicide and depression and risk assessment

Combined Search - PsycINFO and ERIC - what's this? See "Search Combined Databases" below.

   Sample Search:  culture-free self-esteem inventories

   Sample Search: personality measures and adolescen*

Note: choose the thesaurus in ERIC or PsycINFO (upper left of screen) and type "tests" to see a long list of terms that could be used to search for articles on tests and testing.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)  

• Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) is a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 tests in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
  
• Includes assessments published from 1938 to the present.
  
• Access MMY here or through myLesley--click on Databases by Name to find in on the alphabetical list.

Search MMY for detailed descriptions and evaluations of assessments.

Follow the links below to view sample searches. You will be asked to login to myLesley.

Valuable data on Data on percentage of student population with disabilities, high school graduation rates by disability and by state, and for students in transition programs. Profiles of 5 students with different disabilities. And more from Education Week. June 9, 2015. 

Temple Grandin: The Autistic Brain

Video Published on May 14, 2013