Skip to main content

Faculty Resources

The Basics

To create a direct link to an item in the library's online collection, you need to use a "persistent link". Databases companies may also call these permalinks, stable URLs, durable URLs, document URLs, or DOIs (digital object identifiers).

The persistent link must include the Lesley University ezproxy prefix. If the URL does not have this prefix, you can easily add it to the front of the link. If this ezproxy prefix is missing, students will not be able to get to your materials from off-campus.

Our Proxy prefix is: http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=
  • Any URL with the ezproxy prefix attached will contain two "http" elements. Note that there are NO SPACES in the URL.
  • A correctly prefixed URL is very long and will look something like this: http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://www.something.com/abc/def/ghi/123xyz

Alexander Street

Applies to Academic Video Online Premium, Counseling & Therapy in Video, Education in Video

  1. From the list of results, view a video.
  2. Click on "Embed/Link" and copy the URL given in the permalink field
  3. Paste the URL into your myLesley course. This URL already includes the library's proxy prefix.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=vasc.alexanderstreet.com/View/1666941.

ArtStor

  1. Right-click on the thumbnail image.
  2. Choose Generate an Image URL.
  3. Copy and paste the Imageviewer URL into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=8D1Mcjw9MjA9NEA7eD96QHgp
XHkv&userId=iThAcw%3D%3D&zoomparams=

Credo

  1. Display an article or topic page.
  2. Click on the chain link image in the top menu bar to display the permalink.
  3. Copy & paste the URL into your myLesley course. This URL already includes the library's proxy information.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/sageukpr/blog_blogger_blogging_blogosphere/0?institutionId=1429

Ebrary

  1. Display the ebook by clicking on the title.
  2. Copy the URL that appears at the top of your web browser.
  3. Paste the URL into your myLesley course. This URL already includes the library's proxy information.

Example of a complete url:
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/lesley/docDetail.action?docID=10315665

EBSCOhost Databases and Homepage Search

Applies to EDS Ebsco Discovery Service (the main search bar on the library homepage) as well as individual Ebsco databases such as Academic Search Premier, Art Fulltext, Ebsco E-Books, Humanities International Complete, PsycInfo, SocIndex, etc.

  1. From the list of results, view a citation or article.
  2. Click on 'Permalink' in the Tools menu (located in the right hand column).
  3. Copy the URL given in this field and paste it into your myLesley course. This URL already includes the library's proxy prefix.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&an=20970863.

Gale

Applies to Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic, Health Reference Center Academic, General Business File, General Reference Center, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Opposing Viewpoints, Biography Resource Center/Who's Who, Virtual Reference Library, and InfoTrac Student Editions

  1. From the list of results, view a citation or article.
  2. Click Bookmark this Document from the right-hand menu.
  3. Copy & paste the Bookmark URL into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CA2925
68172&v=2.1&u=les_main&it=r&p=AONE&sw=w

Issues & Controversies

  1. Display the entry by clicking on the title
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the screen.
  3. Copy the Record URL and paste it into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://www.2facts.com/article/i1500070

JSTOR

  1. Display the article summary by clicking on the title
  2. Click "View Citation" in the menu box.
  3. Copy the document stable URL from the pop-up window and paste it into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/1146752

Kanopy

  1. Display the film or film clip you wish to link to.
  2. Click on the Share/Embed link listed under the film.
  3. Copy the url given in the "Share" field.
  4. Paste the URL into your myLesley course. This URL already includes the library's proxy information.

Example of a complete url:
http://lesley.kanopystreaming.com/video/tough-guise-2

Oxford Art Online

  1. Display the encyclopedia entry you wish to link to.
  2. Copy the URL that appears at the top of your web browser.
  3. Paste the URL into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber/article/opr/t4/e1?pos=14

Proquest

Applies to Proquest Central, Proquest Education, ABI Inform, Proquest Newspapers, New York Times, Boston Globe, and Dissertations & Theses

  1. From the list of results, view a citation or article.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and find the Document URL field.
  3. Copy the URL and paste it into your myLesley course. This URL already includes the library's proxy prefix.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1020885037?accountid=12060

Sage

  1. From the list of results, view an abstract or article.
  2. Copy the URL that appears at the top of your web browser.
  3. Paste the URL into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://tcp.sagepub.com/content/40/6/895.full.pdf+html

Science Direct College Edition

  1. Locate article and go to the full citation by clicking on the title.
  2. Copy the URL that appears at the top of your web browser.
  3. Paste the URL into your myLesley course.
  4. Copy & paste the library's proxy prefix to the front of the article URL with no spaces between the URLs.

Example of a complete url:
http://ezproxyles.flo.org/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0197455613001664

 

Login to LibApps

Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization