Transcripts & Narratives
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference WorksCounseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. This database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
Streaming Video Databases
Alexander Street Counseling (Academic Video Online Premium | AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- Alexander Street Video | Psychology & Counselingincludes the following online collections of videos available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Counseling and Therapy in Videoprovides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.
- Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5™ and ICD-10The videos in this collection examine various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses using the DSM-5™ and the ICD-10. Each program focuses on a specific disorder and includes dramatic scenarios to demonstrate the disorder and its symptoms.
- The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapyprovides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
Psychotherapy.net Collection
Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection. Psychotherapy.net is home to a 4-part video series called: "The DSM-5 and Psychodiagnostic Interviewing."
- Psychotherapy.net | HomeSearch this collection by Approach, Therapeutic Issue, Expert, Population, or by all Titles.
- Volume 1: Psychiatric Diagnosis and InterviewingVolume 1 of this comprehensive series begins with Jason Buckles and Victor Yalom digging deep into some of the most fundamental questions in the field of mental health: What is a mental disorder? What is a diagnosis? What are the benefits as well as the drawbacks of conceptualizing human problems as disorders? Is it appropriate to use the medical model to treat mental illness? What are some of the dangers of diagnosing culturally normative behaviors as disorders? The many valuable uses of our diagnostic system—from having a common language among professionals, to securing insurance coverage, to scientific research—are seamlessly woven into their dynamic discussion as well.
- Volume 2: Diagnosing PTSD, Adjustment, Generalized Anxiety and Panic DisordersVolume 2 of this series provides the opportunity to watch diagnostic interviews with clients struggling with adjustment, panic, generalized anxiety, and posttraumatic stress disorders—four of the more common diagnoses encountered in clinical practice. You’ll see two clinicians with contrasting styles conducting professional diagnostic interviews while navigating the intricacies of developing a therapeutic alliance.
- Volume 3: Diagnosing Depressive, Bipolar, and Alcohol Use DisordersDepression is widespread in Western cultures but with so many varieties of depression and differences among how people experience it, how do we diagnose it and rule out the myriad other disorders that sometimes masquerade as depression? What constitutes mania? What’s the difference between Bipolar I and II? When is depression “persistent” and when does it became serious enough to warrant a major depressive diagnosis? Can they coexist? How do you know if substance use is causing depression and how do you skillfully ply information from clients about their substance use when they would rather you don’t? All this and more is covered in Volume 3 of our DSM-5 and Psychodiagnostic Interviewing series.
- Volume 4: Diagnosing Anorexia, Schizophrenia and Borderline Personality DisorderIn this final installment of the series, watch skilled interviewers working with a young man who has schizophrenia, an aspiring ballerina struggling with anorexia, and a woman with all the features we associate with borderline personality disorder. You’ll see the therapists struggle with these clients—as lack of insight and psychotic thinking can often be present with these disorders—and still find a way to gather information for a working diagnosis.
Kanopy Streaming Media
- Kanopy Streaming MediaKanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts. Psychology videos are available to stream through the Kanopy streaming video database.
Assessment and Intervention with Suicidal Clients Volumes 1-3
The series "Assessment and Intervention with Suicidal Clients" by John Sommers-Flanagan is available in the Psychotherapy.net Collection.
- Assessment and Intervention with Suicidal Clients Volume 1
In Volume 1 of this comprehensive and highly acclaimed series, you’ll see Dr. Sommers-Flanagan demonstrate his collaborative and research-based approach in multiple sessions. By the conclusion of this training video you will be far better-equipped to attend to the clinical challenges of the suicidal client. - Assessment and Intervention with Suicidal Clients Volume 2
In Volume 2 of this series, you’ll see Dr. Sommers-Flanagan conduct initial sessions with multiple clients. You will learn how to implement the “Mood Rating Scale with a Suicide Floor” to determine changes in your client’s emotional status as they relate to self-harm. As he models use of the “Suicide Rating Form,” you will develop strategies for accurately assessing your client’s risk for suicide. Finally, you will acquire skills for building a safety plan with your suicidal clients that includes creation of a safe environment, recognizing warning signs, identifying peer and community resources, and choosing an alternative environment. - Assessment and Intervention with Suicidal Clients Volume 3
In this 3rd and final volume of this series, Sommers-Flanagan addresses the issue of acute suicidality as he works with a 35-year-old white gay male who is socially isolated, hopeless, and with access to lethal means. He teaches how to ask concrete and specific questions about suicide, and you will acquire skills for establishing meaningful therapeutic contact with minority youth in a variety of settings. By understanding the impact of bullying, social alienation and stigma on gender development, you will be able to more effectively assess suicidal LGBT clients. And finally, you will learn to clinically negotiate the delicate balance between the will to live and the urge to die with clients who have lost a loved one to suicide.