Special Topics - Women's Health - Health and Medicine - Lesley University Library at Lesley University

Scholarly Resources

Global Library of Women's Medicine
This is a FREE resource designed to support the medical profession in their care of women – made possible by over 750 expert clinicians who are generously providing their contributions without any remuneration.
UN Women
In July 2010, the United Nations General Assembly created UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women.

In doing so, UN Member States took an historic step in accelerating the Organization’s goals on gender equality and the empowerment of women.
womenshealth.gov
The Office on Women's Health (OWH) was established in 1991 within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Its Vision is to ensure that "All Women and Girls are Healthier and Have a Better Sense of Well Being." Its mission is to "provide leadership to promote health equity for women and girls through sex/gender-specific approaches."

Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Gender Studies Database™ combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, and more.

Women Working, 1800 - 1930 This link opens in a new window
Women Working, 1800-1930, focuses on the impact of women on the U.S. economy, documenting issues including working conditions and workplace regulations, health and hygiene, recreation, cost of living, home life, and more. Women Working contains digitized books, trade catalogs, archival and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs.