Searching for Sources
Lesley's 
Search grants you access to all library resources, in a variety of formats, from a variety of databases. Searching here is ideal for general, beginning searches, as it allows for a wider pool of results.
SearchSpecialized Databases
-
Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCO)Alt-HealthWatch is a FULL-TEXT database of periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, academic and professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
-
Global Issues in Context (Gale)Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
-
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.
-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
-
ProQuest Health Science CollectionThis collection includes:
• Nursing & Allied Health Source
• Evidence-Based Resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute
• ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
• Pharmaceutical News Index
• ProQuest Family Health
• ProQuest Health and Medical Complete
• ProQuest Health Management -
ProQuest Science JournalsIncludes ProQuest Biology Journals and ProQuest Science Journals
-
PubMed CentralPubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Specialized Journals
-
BMC International Health and Human RightsBMC International Health and Human Rights is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in relation to health and disease in developing and transitional countries, as well as all issues relating to the impact of health policies, programs and practices on human rights.
-
Bulletin of the World Health OrganizationThe Bulletin of the World Health Organization is an international journal of public health with a special focus on developing countries. Since it was first published in 1948, the Bulletin has become one of the world’s leading public health journals.
-
Global Health Action
Global Health Action aims to contribute to fuelling a more concrete, hands-on approach to global health challenges. The journal particularly invites articles from low- and mid-income countries, while also welcoming South-South and South-North collaborations. All papers are expected to address a global agenda and include a strong implementation or policy component.
-
Globilization and HealthGlobalization and Health addresses key issues in global health and is ready to receive manuscripts that consider the positive and negative influences of globalization on health.
-
International Journal of Environmental Research and Public HealthInternational Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health (IJERPH) is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes original articles, critical reviews, research notes, and short communications in the interdisciplinary area of environmental health sciences and public health.
-
Open Public Health JournalThe Open Public Health Journal is an Open Access online journal which publishes original research articles, reviews and short articles in the field of public health. Topics covered in this interdisciplinary journal include: public health policy and practice; theory and methods; occupational health and education; epidemiology; social medicine; health services research; ethics; environmental health; adolescent health; AIDS care; mental health care.