Business and Finance

Several universities and organizations offer free or open access to business case studies. Open access means the cases are free to use, share, and reuse for teaching. Below are some well-known sources.

For questions about using these cases, including permissions, please contact the case publisher directly.

Recommended Core Collections 
(Best starting point for most teaching needs)

• MIT Sloan - Case Studies

  A collection of teaching case studies available for free under a creative commons license across many business topics.

• Yale School of Management - Free Cases

  Free case studies authored by Yale faculty covering a wide range of business topics.

• Stanford Graduate School of Business - Free Cases

  Offers free case studies, accessible by filtering the availability on the website.

• Ivey Business School (UWO) Free Cases

  Approximately 20 free case studies from one of the top publishers of business cases worldwide.

• Case Centre

  Offers a wide range of free case studies from prominent schools and organizations globally; registration and login are required for access.

• Financial Times - Business School Cases

  A selection of approximately 25 business school cases covering a wide range of topics from 2023 onward.

• Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative - Anderson School of Management

  An online library featuring straightforward business case studies centered on principle-based ethics.

• Ethics Unwrapped - McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin

  Over 50 case studies connecting ethics concepts to real-world situations, accompanied by discussion questions and additional resources.

• Gender and the Economy: Rotman School of Management

  Case studies addressing gender inequalities in business, focusing on various relevant topics.

• University of British Columbia: Open Case Studies

  Includes various case studies, primarily focused on sustainability and business topics.

Additional Specialized Resources
(For ethics, leadership, sustainability, Indigenous business, statistics, or research)

• IBIMA Business Review

  A peer-reviewed, open-access journal publishing case studies across all business fields, promoting continuous learning.

• Sustainable Development Goals Case Series - Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University

  Open access case studies aligned with UN Sustainable Development Goals.

• Global History of Capitalism: Case Study Series

  Free, open-access cases from the University of Oxford on the history and impact of capitalism.

• Case Studies in Business, Industry and Government Statistics: CSBIGS

  High-quality case studies focused on modern data analysis for instruction, training, or self-study.

• Indigenous Business Stories Project

  Free case studies related to Indigenous Business Practices, accessible for public use.

• Enduring Legacies Native Cases: Business and Management

  Develops and disseminates culturally relevant case studies addressing key issues in Indian Country.

• Markkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University

  Case studies on various fields of applied ethics, including business and leadership.

• Ted Rogers Leadership Centre, Toronto Metropolitan University

  Collection of leadership-focused case studies developed for classroom use.

• Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations

  Free case studies related to employee-owned companies from Rutgers' Curriculum Library.

• World Business Council for Sustainable Development Case Studies

  Presents case studies on accelerating sustainability practices among leading businesses.

• Journal of Business Cases and Applications

  Offers peer-reviewed business cases and exercises designed for classroom use across multiple disciplines.

• INSEAD Publishing: Cases

  Provides access to 115 free case studies, requiring registration for full access.

• Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business Ethics

  A collection of 90 case studies funded by Arthur Andersen (1987-1994) to raise awareness of business ethics, available for use by participating universities.

• SSRN: Management Educator: Courses, Cases & Teaching eJournal

  Promotes innovative curricular development and teaching approaches for management education.

• SSRN: Boston University Questrom School of Business Research Paper Series

  Includes research papers and a small number of case studies authored by Questrom faculty.

• Matching Supply with Demand (Book) - Companion Cases

  Complementary cases for the book available for free with author permission.

• Portland State University: Social Innovation & Social Entrepreneurship

  Case studies from the School of Business exploring social innovation and entrepreneurship.

• Bell Teaching Case Studies

  Explores sustainability challenges in business, showing how environmental issues can create development opportunities, though they may be outdated.

• Journal of Business Case Studies (JBCS)

  Archive of papers published from 2005-2017 focusing on teaching methods using case studies.

• Acadia Institute of Case Studies (archived link)

  A non-profit center at Acadia University focused on entrepreneurship and small business operations.

• Internet Archive

  Access to hundreds of digitized books that include various business case studies.

On-campus users at Lesley University will see additional links in Google Scholar search results which facilitate access to Lesley's resources.

Off-campus users will need to configure your affiliation:

• To set your preferences, click on Scholar Preferences (http://scholar.google.com/scholar_preferences)
• Type "Lesley" in the 'Library Links' section and select "Lesley University Library - Find It @ Lesley Univ". 
• Click Save preferences.

Let's begin by going to Google Scholar.