How to Find Articles
Use the @LL Search bar below to:
- Search for a broad topic, like impressionism, to get ideas for how to narrow your topic into a specific research question
- Split your research question into different search bars using Advanced Search. If your research question is "How did the Dutch tulip trade influence still life painting" you can put dutch or flemish or netherlands on one line, tulip trade on another line, and still-life or still life on the bottom line.
- Paste in a book title to see if we have it
- Paste in an article title to see if we have the full text (if you don't find it that way, try searching for the journal title here)
Search
Can't Find the Full Text? We Will!
If you've already tried searching for the article title above, and you also tried searching for the journal title here but you still can't find the full text, try searching online! Google the title of the article in quotation marks to see if it's available on the author's website, in a free eBook, or in Google Scholar, etc.!
If none of that works, then you can request an InterLibrary Loan! We'll ask another library to scan the article and send it to you electronically! Available to all grad students, regardless if you're local or not! Go here to get the skinny on InterLibrary Loan.
Art Databases
Results from these databases show up in your @LL Search results (above), but if you want to search in just one database instead, you can choose one of these:
- Art Full Text (EBSCO) Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- Art Index Retrospective An invaluable, in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- Art Biblographies Modern ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
- Artstor Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more. ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
- Humanities International Complete Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full text content.
Reviews of Films/Art/Exhibits
- Newspaper DatabasesThis list of newspaper article databases is a great place to start if you're looking for reviews of films/exhibits/artwork
- Film Literature Index Free online index of articles published before 2002. The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The National Endowment for the Humanities awarded Indiana University a grant in 2002 to convert the print version of the Film Literature Index to electronic form. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.