@LL Search
Search
Search for Print Books, eBooks & Streaming Media using the FLO Catalog
- FLO Catalog Catalog of the collections of the Fenway Libraries Online
Getting Started: Keywords for Research
Suggested Databases for Searching (Specialized)
- Alexander Street Video Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- BioMed Central Journals BioMed Central (BMC) contains 300 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of science, technology, engineering and medicine, all of which are open access immediately upon publication.
- Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, & Reference Works Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a biweekly basis.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5-TR) is the most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, a diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). This database includes the DSM-5 and the DSM-5-TR basics, diagnostic criteria and codes, and emerging measures.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Expressive Media New streaming video platform, Expressive Media!
- Gale Health & Wellness Gale Health and Wellness provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia on a variety of consumer health topics, from current disease and disorder coverage to in-depth information on alternative health practices.
- MEDLINE MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
- PsycArticles PsycArticles contains full-texted, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, with more than 200,000 full-text articles.
- PsycBooks PsycBooks offers over 65,000 book chapters and 4,000 peer-reviewed books from the American Psychological Association, with historical titles beginning at 1620 and the most current APA books.
- Psychology & Counseling in Video Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
- Psychotherapy.net Full Collection & Social Work Collection Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- PsycInfo 1887-present PsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- PTSDPubs Formerly the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database, PTSDPubs is an extensive resource on PTSD including articles, journals, and information about tests and measurements. Although produced by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, PTSDPubs is not limited to PTSD among veterans.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Interdisciplinary)
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- Credo Reference This Collection includes over 1,000 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Kanopy Streaming Media Kanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts.
- Taylor and Francis Journals Taylor & Francis is a provider of specialist information to the global academic & scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement.
Featured eBooks
Dance and Creativity Within Dance Movement Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429442308Publication Date: 2020-10-26Dance and Creativity within Dance Movement Therapy discusses the core work and basic concepts in dance movement therapy (DMT), focusing on the centrality of dance, the creative process and their aesthetic-psychological implications in the practice of the profession for both patients and therapists. Based on interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary inputs from fields such as philosophy, anthropology and dance, contributions examine the issues presented by cultural differences in DMT through the input of practitioners from several diverse countries.
Dance/Movement Therapy for Infants and Young Children with Medical Illness by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003134800Publication Date: 2022-12-30This book presents dance/movement therapy as a window into the emotional and internal experience of a baby with a medical illness, within the context of treating the whole family system and using the DC 0-5 as the basis for formulating the clinical situation. This book fills a gap in the literature bringing a variety of fields together including infant mental health, infant and child psychiatry, nonverbal movement analysis, and the creative arts therapies.
Dance/Movement Therapy for Trauma Survivors by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003111382Publication Date: 2022-03-10This book offers a timely, detailed, and comprehensive synopsis of dance/movement therapy (DMT) in the treatment of psychological trauma. Along with the foundational concepts of DMT, tied to traditional trauma theory and a neurobiological framework, contributions contain rich clinical examples that illustrate the use of dance, creative movement, and body awareness with a wide variety of populations including survivors of sex trafficking, military veterans, refugees, those with multigenerational trauma, and others.
Arts therapies in psychiatric rehabilitation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 3030762084Publication Date: 2021This book explores possible approaches to and uses of art therapy in mental health settings. Reflecting the latest scientific evidence, it represents a major step toward the harmonization of practices in the field, filling the gap between the theory and practice of art therapy. The book is divided into four major sections, corresponding to the main artistic domains: visual art therapy, music therapy, dance movement therapy, and drama therapy.
Handbook of Expressive Arts Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781462550630Publication Date: 2022-09-23This authoritative and comprehensive volume explains how to integrate movement, sound, art, play, imagery, drama, and other multisensory practices into psychotherapy. Cathy A. Malchiodi and other leading experts demonstrate ways to combine a wide range of expressive approaches to help clients explore feelings and thoughts that are often difficult to access verbally.
Streaming Video Databases
Looking for streaming videos?
Try the Academic Video Online (AVON) database. Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Also try the Psychotherapy.net database. Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
Selected Journals
American Journal of Dance Therapy - current issues available from Springer. back issues available from Proquest. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1987 to present. Call number: RC489.D3
Body, Movement and Dance in Psychotherapy - fulltext available from 2006-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 2006 to present. Call number: RC489.D3 B63
Dance, Movement & Spiritualities - fulltext available from 2012-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 2012 to present. Call number: RC489.D3 D36 
Dance Research Journal - current issues available from Proquest. back issues from 1974- available from JSTOR.
Journal of Dance Education - fulltext available from 2001-present.
Journal of Dance, Medicine & Science - fulltext available from 2004-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 2001-current. Call number: RC1220.D35 J68
Journal of Nonverbal Behavior - current issues available from Springer. back issues from 1992- available from Ebsco.
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance - fulltext available from 1988-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 2004-current. Call number: GV201 .J6
Featured Resources
The Sherrill Library has a special resource for educators, therapists, counselors to use called the Teaching Resource Center, which is a collection of manipulatives, textbooks, picture books, leveled readers and juvenile fiction and non fiction.
The most effective way to search the collection is to go to the FLO catalog, select the "Advanced Search" option and scroll down the "Location" tab option to find "Lesley-Sherrill Teaching Resources Collection". Once you have that highlighted, go back above to the search box and start searching!
Octaband [kit] by Call Number: TRC RC489.D3 2012Parachute [kit]
Call Number: TRC GV452 .P373 2007