@LL Search
Search
Search for Print Books, eBooks & Streaming Media using the FLO Catalog
- FLO Catalog Catalog of the collections of the Fenway Libraries Online
Getting Started: Keywords for Research
Suggested Databases for Searching (Specialized)
- Alexander Street Video Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- BioMed Central Journals BioMed Central (BMC) contains 300 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of science, technology, engineering and medicine, all of which are open access immediately upon publication.
- Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, & Reference Works Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a biweekly basis.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5-TR) is the most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, a diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). This database includes the DSM-5 and the DSM-5-TR basics, diagnostic criteria and codes, and emerging measures.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Expressive Media New streaming video platform, Expressive Media!
- Gale Health & Wellness Gale Health and Wellness provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia on a variety of consumer health topics, from current disease and disorder coverage to in-depth information on alternative health practices.
- MEDLINE MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
- PsycArticles PsycArticles contains full-texted, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, with more than 200,000 full-text articles.
- PsycBooks PsycBooks offers over 65,000 book chapters and 4,000 peer-reviewed books from the American Psychological Association, with historical titles beginning at 1620 and the most current APA books.
- Psychology & Counseling in Video Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
- Psychotherapy.net Full Collection & Social Work Collection Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- PsycInfo 1887-present PsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- PTSDPubs Formerly the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database, PTSDPubs is an extensive resource on PTSD including articles, journals, and information about tests and measurements. Although produced by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, PTSDPubs is not limited to PTSD among veterans.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Interdisciplinary)
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- Credo Reference This Collection includes over 1,000 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Kanopy Streaming Media Kanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts.
- Taylor and Francis Journals Taylor & Francis is a provider of specialist information to the global academic & scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement.
Featured eBooks
Dramatherapy and recovery : the coactive therapeutic theatre model and manual by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003161608Publication Date: 2024"This book offers a comprehensive and groundbreaking approach to harnessing the power of theater in the recovery process through the use of playmaking and performance. This manual is based on the CoActive Therapeutic Theater (CoATT) model, the first of its kind to be meticulously documented and standardized. With its emphasis on replicability and measurable outcomes, the CoATT model is brought to life through annotated scripts and progress notes extracted from past productions involving diverse populations, including those with eating disorders, aphasia, schizophrenia, and substance abuse disorder.
Trauma and embodied healing in dramatherapy, theatre and performance by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003322375Publication Date: 2024"This edited volume explores the singularity of embodiment and somatic approaches in the healing of trauma from a dramatherapy, theatre and performance perspective. Collating voices from across the fields of dramatherapy, theatre and performance, this book examines how different interdisciplinary and intercultural approaches offer unique and unexplored perspectives on the body as a medium for the exploration, expression, and resolution of chronic, acute and complex trauma as well as collective and intergenerational trauma.
Trauma-Informed Drama Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780398094348Publication Date: 2024This book examines how drama therapists conceptualize and respond to relational and systemic trauma across systems of care including mental health clinics, schools, and communities burdened by historical and current wounds.
The Drama Therapy Decision Tree by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1789382475Publication Date: 2021The Drama Therapy Decision Tree provides an integrated model for therapeutic decision-making by deconstructing the processes of choosing drama therapy interventions. The authors strive to provide a common language for communicating what drama therapists do in terms of diagnoses and interventions, especially for students and early career professionals in the field.
Current Approaches in Drama Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780398093457Publication Date: 2020This third edition of Current Approaches in Drama Therapy offers a revised and updated comprehensive compilation of the primary drama therapy methods and models that are being utilized and taught in the United States and Canada. Two new approaches have been added, Insight Improvisation by Joel Gluck, and the Miss Kendra Program by David Read Johnson, Nisha Sajnani, Christine Mayor, and Cat Davis, as well as an established but not previously recognized approach in the field, Autobiographical Therapeutic Performance, by Susana Pendzik.
Collaborations Within and Between Dramatherapy and Music Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784504021Publication Date: 2018In this insightful book, Oldfield and Carr draw together persuasive arguments for combining aspects of music therapy and dramatherapy, whilst retaining their unique facets. Building on the many links between music and drama and the compatibility between the two disciplines, the authors explore how artistic aspects of each therapy can be drawn on to create fresh ways of working.
Drama As Therapy Volume 2 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203859469Publication Date: 2010How is dramatherapy practised? What does research reveal about how dramatherapy offers therapeutic change? This book examines the many ways clients and therapists explore the therapeutic possibilities of drama. Whilst the first volume combined theory, practice and research in the field, this second volume concentrates on clinical material from a range of contexts, with thorough description and analysis of therapeutic work.
Streaming Video Databases
Looking for streaming videos?
Try the Academic Video Online (AVON) database. Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Also try the Psychotherapy.net database. Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- Psychodrama Moreno emphasizes the importance of spontaneity and creativity while demonstrating with Christi, who is asked to see her family photo and then construct it on stage using volunteers from the audience. These volunteers act as 'auxiliary egos.' Following this demonstration Moreno plays all of the characters in a role-reversal she did with her 3 year old son. She uses this story to emphasize her major point, 'We learn better in action.'
- Creative Healing in Mental Health Over the past fifty years, art therapy has become a recognized strategy for working successfully with diverse populations. Especially with clients who have difficulty expressing themselves verbally, art and drama therapy techniques offer exciting ways for therapists to make contact, connect, and begin a meaningful therapeutic dialogue.
- Exploring Narradrama Set in a community group home in South Central Los Angeles, this video shows actual footage of a team of narradrama therapists working with a multicultural group of both staff and teens for a series of extended meetings. Watch as the severe disconnection between residents and staff dissolves, mutual respect and connections build, and each side uncovers their strengths and values.
- Action Methods in Couples Therapy If you’ve ever worked with couples, you know how challenging it can be, particularly when talk therapy just isn’t enough. Just as couples can get caught in negative patterns, therapists also get trapped in stale ways of engaging with their clients.
- Psychodrama in Action Psychodrama in Action shows Zerka masterfully conducting an actual psychodrama session with a group of experienced psychodrama practitioners. The protagonist Frank has been having great difficulty completing his doctoral thesis on psychodrama. Zerka directs him in several powerful scenes, including role reversals with his thesis as well as with his grandfather. Interspersed throughout is voiceover commentary from Zerka explaining her thoughts and rationale for her interventions. This video is certain to become a classic in the field for years to come.
- Psychodrama Unmasked: Essential Tools and Techniques Ready to bring more vitality into your sessions? Psychodrama offers a wide array of action-oriented techniques that help clients get out of their heads and into their bodies, moving beyond what is possible in traditional talk therapy. This video offers a thorough introduction to the key concepts and methodology of psychodrama, and will prove useful not only for those who facilitate actual psychodramas, but also for more traditional therapists seeking tools and techniques to engage clients in new ways.
Selected Journals
- Arts in Psychotherapy - Full-text available from 1995-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1980-2021. Call number: Periodical RC489.A7 A76
- Drama Therapy Review - Full-text available from 2015-Present.
- Dramascope - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1986-2008. Call number: Periodical RC489.D72 D71
- Dramatherapy - Full-text available from 1997-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1986-2018 (with gaps). Call number: Periodical RC489.D72 D72
- International Journal of Action Methods - Limited Full-text available from 1990-2006. Print copies available at Sherrill Library. Call number: Periodical RC488.A1 I57
- Journal of Group Psychotherapy, Psychodrama, and Sociometry - Limited Full-text available from 1990-2020 (with gaps). Print copies available at Sherrill Library. Call number: Periodical RC488.A1 G76
- Journal of Poetry Therapy - Full-text available from 2003-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1990-2020. Call number: Periodical RC489.B48 J68
- The Prompt - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2000-2010. Call number: Periodical RC489.D72 P76
- TDR: The Drama Review - Full-text available from 1999-Present.
- Theatre Journal - Back Issues available in JSTOR. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2005-Present. Call number: Periodical PN3171 .E38
Featured Resources
The Sherrill Library has a special resource for educators, therapists, counselors to use called the Teaching Resource Center, which is a collection of manipulatives, textbooks, picture books, leveled readers and juvenile fiction and non fiction.
The most effective way to search the collection is to go to the FLO catalog, select the "Advanced Search" option and scroll down the "Location" tab option to find "Lesley-Sherrill Teaching Resources Collection". Once you have that highlighted, go back above to the search box and start searching!
Shakespeare's Heartbeat: Drama Games for Children with Autism by Call Number: TRC RJ506.A9 H86 2015Publication Date: 2015"Over ten years, Hunter worked with children on all points of the spectrum, developing drama games for the specific purpose of combatting autism. These unique games, derived from specific moments in the plays, shed new light on how to teach Shakespeare to children, using the drama as an exploration of how it feels to be alive."
Three Headed Dragon PuppetCall Number: TRC PN1979.E4 T47 2008"As anyone with a sibling knows, brothers and sisters sometimes don't get along! How much harder would it be if you were attached, and could breathe fire? Find out with this Three-Headed Dragon puppet. Just slip your hand inside from underneath to animate the arms and all three heads, then let the bickering/braggadocio/blazing begin!"
NoNo the Little Seal by Call Number: TRC RJ507.S49 P38 2004Publication Date: 2004"...the gentle story of a little seal who learns to stay safe, say 'No', and tell". The kit includes a book, audio CD and seal puppet.
Bart Speaks Out: Breaking the Silence on Suicide by Call Number: TRC RC455.4.L67 G65 1998Publication Date: 1998"I have written this interactive storybook, Bart Speaks Out, for young children. It is my way of giving a voice to the silence surrounding suicide"--Introduction.
Kit includes a book and dog puppet.