@LL Search
Search
Search for Print Books, eBooks & Streaming Media using the FLO Catalog
- FLO Catalog Catalog of the collections of the Fenway Libraries Online
Getting Started: Keywords for Research
Suggested Databases for Searching (Specialized)
- Alexander Street Video Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- BioMed Central Journals BioMed Central (BMC) contains 300 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of science, technology, engineering and medicine, all of which are open access immediately upon publication.
- Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, & Reference Works Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a biweekly basis.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5-TR) is the most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, a diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). This database includes the DSM-5 and the DSM-5-TR basics, diagnostic criteria and codes, and emerging measures.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Expressive Media New streaming video platform, Expressive Media!
- Gale Health & Wellness Gale Health and Wellness provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia on a variety of consumer health topics, from current disease and disorder coverage to in-depth information on alternative health practices.
- MEDLINE MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
- PsycArticles PsycArticles contains full-texted, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, with more than 200,000 full-text articles.
- PsycBooks PsycBooks offers over 65,000 book chapters and 4,000 peer-reviewed books from the American Psychological Association, with historical titles beginning at 1620 and the most current APA books.
- Psychology & Counseling in Video Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
- Psychotherapy.net Full Collection & Social Work Collection Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- PsycInfo 1887-present PsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- PTSDPubs Formerly the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database, PTSDPubs is an extensive resource on PTSD including articles, journals, and information about tests and measurements. Although produced by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, PTSDPubs is not limited to PTSD among veterans.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Interdisciplinary)
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- Credo Reference This Collection includes over 1,000 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Kanopy Streaming Media Kanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts.
- Taylor and Francis Journals Taylor & Francis is a provider of specialist information to the global academic & scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement.
Featured eBooks
Handbook of Expressive Arts Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781462550630Publication Date: 2022This authoritative and comprehensive volume explains how to integrate movement, sound, art, play, imagery, drama, and other multisensory practices into psychotherapy. Cathy A. Malchiodi and other leading experts demonstrate ways to combine a wide range of expressive approaches to help clients explore feelings and thoughts that are often difficult to access verbally. Rich case examples illustrate what these modalities look like in action, providing readers with strategies they can readily apply in work with individuals of all ages.
Attunement in Expressive Arts Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780398093693Publication Date: 2021This new second edition of Attunement in Expressive Arts Therapy: Toward an Understanding of Embodied Empathy has been extensively revised. The book addresses how the arts can be applied therapeutically for mental, emotional and spiritual health.
An Expressive Arts Approach to Healing Loss and Grief by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781787752788Publication Date: 2021Drawing on expertise in both expressive arts and grief counselling, this book highlights the use of expressive arts therapeutic methods in confronting and healing grief and bereavement. Establishing a link between these two approaches, it widens our understanding of loss and grief.
Trauma and Expressive Arts Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781462543144Publication Date: 2020From pioneering therapist Cathy A. Malchiodi, this book synthesizes the breadth of research on trauma and the brain and presents an innovative framework for treating trauma through the expressive arts.
Expressive Therapies for Kids by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1683732499Publication Date: 2020xpressive arts therapies can help children communicate problems, process emotions, and develop solutions, in a comfortable, non-threatening way. Expressive Therapies for Kids contains over 85 art, music, play and drama directives to use in school or a therapy office. Licensed educational psychologist and registered art therapist Dr. Kimberley Palmiotto has pulled together creative and engaging activities that can be used with children and teens to help manage symptoms and behaviors associated with: Autism Spectrum Disorder Anxiety Selective Mutism ADHD Emotional Dysregulation Intellectual Disabilities
Creative Arts-Based Group Therapy with Adolescents by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781351332163Publication Date: 2019Creative Arts-Based Group Therapy with Adolescents provides principles for effective use of different arts-based approaches in adolescent group therapy, grounding these principles in neuroscience and group process practice-based evidence. It includes chapters covering each of the main creative arts therapy modalities--art therapy, bibliotherapy, dance/movement therapy, drama therapy, music therapy, and poetry/expressive writing therapy--written by respected contributors who are expert in the application of these modalities in the context of groups.
Creative Arts Therapies and the LGBTQ Community by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784508029Publication Date: 2019Providing theory and practical interventions, this book is the perfect companion to creative arts therapy students and professionals who wish to work with the LGBTQ community and the unique challenges that sexual minorities, transgender and gender non-conforming (TGNC) clients face today.
Streaming Video Databases
Looking for streaming videos?
Try the Academic Video Online (AVON) database. Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Also try the Psychotherapy.net database. Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
Selected Journals
- Arts and Health - Full-text available from 2009-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2009-2020. Call number: Periodical RC489.A7 A786
- Arts in Psychotherapy - Full-text available from 1980-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1980-Present. Call number: Periodical RC489.A7 A76
- Creativity & Human Development - Full-text available from 2013-Present.
- Journal of Applied Arts & Health - Full-text available from 2010-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2010-2021. Call number: Periodical RC489.A72 J68
- Journal of Creativity in Mental Health - Full-text available from 2005-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2010-Present. Call number: Periodical BF636.5 .J68
- Poiesis - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1999-2013. Call number: Periodical RC489.A72 P6
- Pratt Institute Creative Arts Therapy Review - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1980-1995. Call number: Periodical RC489.A7 .P73
- Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity and the Arts - Full-text available from 2006-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2007-2021. Call number: BH1 .P79
Featured Resources
The Sherrill Library has a special resource for educators, therapists, counselors to use called the Teaching Resource Center, which is a collection of manipulatives, textbooks, picture books, leveled readers and juvenile fiction and non fiction.
The most effective way to search the collection is to go to the FLO catalog, select the "Advanced Search" option and scroll down the "Location" tab option to find "Lesley-Sherrill Teaching Resources Collection". Once you have that highlighted, go back above to the search box and start searching!
The Big Book of Therapeutic Activity Ideas for Children and Teens: Inspiring Arts-Based Activities and Character Education Curricula by Call Number: TRC RJ505.A7 J65 2012"This resource provides over one hundred tried-and-tested fun and imaginative therapeutic activities and ideas to unleash the creativity of children and teenagers aged 5+. Employing a variety of expressive arts including art, music, stories, poetry and film, the activities are designed to teach social skills development, anger control strategies, conflict resolution and thinking skills."
Creative Expression Activities for Teens: Exploring Identity through Art, Craft and Journaling by Call Number: ebrary-read this book online!Publication Date: 2011
Creative Coping Skills for Children: Emotional Support through Arts and Crafts Activities by Call Number: TRC RJ505.A7 T485 2009"This resource comprises a collection of fun, flexible, tried-and-tested activities and make-it-yourself workbooks for parents and professionals to help a child in need of extra emotional support find the coping skills that fit them best."
The Expressive Arts Activity Book by Call Number: TRC RC489.A7 D373 2008Also available in ebrary: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/lesley/Doc?id=10251451