@LL Search
Search
Search for Print Books, eBooks & Streaming Media using the FLO Catalog
- FLO Catalog Catalog of the collections of the Fenway Libraries Online
Getting Started: Keywords for Research
Suggested Databases for Searching (Specialized)
- Alexander Street Video Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- BioMed Central Journals BioMed Central (BMC) contains 300 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of science, technology, engineering and medicine, all of which are open access immediately upon publication.
- Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, & Reference Works Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a biweekly basis.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5-TR) is the most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, a diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). This database includes the DSM-5 and the DSM-5-TR basics, diagnostic criteria and codes, and emerging measures.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Expressive Media New streaming video platform, Expressive Media!
- Gale Health & Wellness Gale Health and Wellness provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia on a variety of consumer health topics, from current disease and disorder coverage to in-depth information on alternative health practices.
- MEDLINE MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
- PsycArticles PsycArticles contains full-texted, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, with more than 200,000 full-text articles.
- PsycBooks PsycBooks offers over 65,000 book chapters and 4,000 peer-reviewed books from the American Psychological Association, with historical titles beginning at 1620 and the most current APA books.
- Psychology & Counseling in Video Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
- Psychotherapy.net Full Collection & Social Work Collection Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- PsycInfo 1887-present PsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- PTSDPubs Formerly the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database, PTSDPubs is an extensive resource on PTSD including articles, journals, and information about tests and measurements. Although produced by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, PTSDPubs is not limited to PTSD among veterans.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Interdisciplinary)
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- Credo Reference This Collection includes over 1,000 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Kanopy Streaming Media Kanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts.
- Taylor and Francis Journals Taylor & Francis is a provider of specialist information to the global academic & scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement.
Featured eBooks
Playful Education by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003285618Publication Date: 2022Playful Education provides a guide for you to activate the powers of play to boost your teaching practices and increase your effectiveness as an educator. Based on Virginia Axline and Garry Landreth's play therapy, this book is an operational and practical guide on using play therapy to strengthen your holistic learning development and relationships with students.
Play for Health Across the Lifespan by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781000389494Publication Date: 2021Play for Health Across the Lifespan uses case studies to explore the impact of play and creativity on health and wellbeing throughout the lifecycle. While play at the start of life influences future development, the authors show play also has a role in improving prospects for health and wellbeing in adulthood and later life.
Old and New Horizons of Sandplay Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003163503Publication Date: 2021This thoughtful and comprehensive book sheds new light on Sandplay Therapy, a method founded in the 1960s by Dora Kalff. It is based on the psychology of C.G. Jung and Margaret Lowenfeld, with inspiration from eastern contemplative traditions.
Trauma informed teaching through play art narrative (PAN) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004432734Publication Date: 2020"Trauma affects the lives of many children who we teach in school. It effects the students, teachers who teach them, the administration, and the school community as it is part of the school environment and culture. Teachers and administrators have great potential to set up an environment and adopt an attitude that can help heal the trauma in the lives of their students.
Prescriptive Play Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1462541712Publication Date: 2019This book helps practitioners choose from the broad range of play therapy approaches to create a comprehensive treatment plan that meets the individual needs of each child.
Game Play by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119553779Publication Date: 2019The essential guide to game play therapy for mental health practitioners The revised and updated third edition of Game Play Therapy offers psychologists and psychiatrists a guide to game play therapy's theoretical foundations and contains the practical applications that are appropriate for children and adolescents. Game playing has proven to invoke more goal-directed behavior, has the benefit of interpersonal interaction, and can perform a significant role in the adaptation to one's environment.
Using Superheroes in Counseling and Play Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826101327Publication Date: 2007Harness the Therapeutic Power of the Superhero! Application of the Star Wars Adoption Narrative Emotional Literacy and the Incredible Hulk Batman and Trauma What Would Superman Do--An Adlerian Approach? With an incisive historical foreword by John Shelton Lawrence and insight from contributors such as Michael Brody, Patty Scanlon, and Roger Kaufman, Lawrence Rubin takes us on a dynamic tour of the benefits of using these icons of popular culture and fantasy in counseling and play therapy.
Streaming Video Databases
Looking for streaming videos?
Try the Academic Video Online (AVON) database. Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Also try the Psychotherapy.net database. Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- Adlerian Play Therapy Expert Play Therapist Dr. Terry Kottman illustrates that children communicate through play and that all play has a purpose. In this video, Dr. Kottman meets with a 5-year old boy who is split between two homes and lacking a sense of control in his life. By reflecting his actions, and using encouragement and suggestions through play, Dr. Kottman soon discovers that this young client needs to show her who’s boss. Jon Carlson and Don Keat introduce Dr. Kottman, and facilitate an in-depth discussion of the further impact and uses of this approach.
- Using Family Play Genograms in Psychotherapy The play genogram, using small toy figures to represent different family members, borrows from play therapy and is especially suited to families with young children and teens.
Selected Journals
- American Journal of Play - Full-text available from 2008-Present.
- Arts in Psychotherapy - Full-text available from 1980-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1980-2021. Call number: Periodical RC489.A7 A76
- British Journal of Play Therapy - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2006-Present (with gaps). Call number: Periodical RJ505.P6 B75
- International Journal of Play Therapy - Full-text available from 1992-Present. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2001-2020. Call number: Periodical RJ505.P6 I6
- Journal of Sandplay Therapy - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 1991-Present (with gaps). Call number: Periodical RC489.S25 J68
- Play Therapy - Not available online. Print copies available at Sherrill Library from 2006-Present. Call number: Periodical RJ505.P6 P54
Featured Resources
The Sherrill Library has a special resource for educators, therapists, counselors to use called the Teaching Resource Center, which is a collection of manipulatives, textbooks, picture books, leveled readers and juvenile fiction and non fiction.
The most effective way to search the collection is to go to the FLO Catalog, select the "Advanced Search" option and scroll down the "Location" tab option to find "Lesley-Sherrill Teaching Resources Collection". Once you have that highlighted, go back above to the search box and start searching!
Counseling Balls GameCall Number: TRC BF723.E6 C68 2007"The Counseling Balls game provides a simple, effective way for children, teens and adults to learn and practice emotional, social and behavioral skills."
Feeling Frog GameCall Number: TRC BF723.E6 F4 1999"The Feelings Frogs were designed to give children fun opportunities to express and learn about their feelings. The bean bags may be used with versions of games such as Hot Potato. Each frog is a different color and has a different mood written on it's back."
Eggspressions Scrambled FeelingsCall Number: TRC BF723.E6 S37 2006"A storybook and set of six expressive wooden eggs offer a role-playing activity to help children identify their feelings."
Amy Elizabeth goes to Play Therapy by Call Number: Juv RJ505.P6 C47 2004