@LL Search
Search
Search for Print Books, eBooks & Streaming Media using the FLO Catalog
- FLO Catalog Catalog of the collections of the Fenway Libraries Online
Getting Started: Keywords for Research
Suggested Databases for Searching (Specialized)
- Alexander Street Video Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- BioMed Central Journals BioMed Central (BMC) contains 300 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of science, technology, engineering and medicine, all of which are open access immediately upon publication.
- Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, & Reference Works Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a biweekly basis.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5-TR) is the most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, a diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). This database includes the DSM-5 and the DSM-5-TR basics, diagnostic criteria and codes, and emerging measures.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Expressive Media New streaming video platform, Expressive Media!
- Gale Health & Wellness Gale Health and Wellness provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia on a variety of consumer health topics, from current disease and disorder coverage to in-depth information on alternative health practices.
- MEDLINE MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
- PsycArticles PsycArticles contains full-texted, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, with more than 200,000 full-text articles.
- PsycBooks PsycBooks offers over 65,000 book chapters and 4,000 peer-reviewed books from the American Psychological Association, with historical titles beginning at 1620 and the most current APA books.
- Psychology & Counseling in Video Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
- Psychotherapy.net Full Collection & Social Work Collection Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- PsycInfo 1887-present PsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- PTSDPubs Formerly the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database, PTSDPubs is an extensive resource on PTSD including articles, journals, and information about tests and measurements. Although produced by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, PTSDPubs is not limited to PTSD among veterans.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Interdisciplinary)
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- Credo Reference This Collection includes over 1,000 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Kanopy Streaming Media Kanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts.
- Taylor and Francis Journals Taylor & Francis is a provider of specialist information to the global academic & scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement.
Featured eBooks
Music Therapy in a Multicultural Context by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784508074Publication Date: 2020-09-21Music therapy professionals work with diverse population groups, and this book provides therapists, and those in training, with the tools to integrate understanding of different cultural and social identities into their practice. Topics addressed include heritage, age, location, identity and health beliefs, and how to understand the dynamics of the variety of different cultures which music therapists will encounter in the course of their practice.
Music Therapy with Preschool Children on the Autism Spectrum by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780807767085Publication Date: 2022-09-23With close to 1 million children on the autism spectrum enrolled in U.S. schools, educators need effective interventions that promote young learners' abilities and build cohesiveness in complex classroom groups. Drawing upon video recordings from 16 months in a public preschool classroom, this book depicts the emerging relationships and abilities that develop through musical play with children on the autism spectrum.
Receptive Music Therapy, 2nd Edition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781787756113Publication Date: 2022-06-21The second edition of Receptive Music Therapy builds on the foundations of the first but provides a completely new rendition, replete with examples from contemporary practices and recognising the value of online music therapy experiences. Learn how music therapists select music from a wide range of diverse musical styles through both collaborative decision making and client-led approaches.
Becoming a Music-Centered Therapist by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781945411717Publication Date: 2022-01-03Becoming a Music-Centered Therapist is a hands-on practical book designed to help students and professionals integrate--or re-integrate--their identity as a musician with their career as a music therapist.
Compositional Methods of Music Therapy by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781945411731Publication Date: 2022-01-03Selecting and designing appropriate and effective music therapy experiences involves a critical thought process that considers multiple aspects of the client and their personal, interpersonal, and therapeutic contexts, as well as the nature of the four music therapy methods.
Streaming Video Databases
Looking for streaming videos?
Try the Academic Video Online (AVON) database. Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
Also try the Psychotherapy.net database. Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- The Emergence of a Polyvagal-Informed Therapy: How Vocal Music and Voice Contribute to Healing Following Trauma This presentation will focus on how Polyvagal Theory provides a plausible model to explain how and why intonation of voice and vocal music can support mental and physical health and enhance function during compromised states associated with illness, chronic stress, and trauma. The workshop will elaborate on the principles incorporated in the Safe and Sound Protocol™ and the lessons learned through preliminary clinical trials, current research, and feedback from clinicians applying the protocol to various clinical disorders including individuals with severe trauma histories.
Selected Journals
Approaches: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Music Therapy (ejournal) - fulltext available from 2009--present.
Australian Journal of Music Therapy - fulltext available from 1996-present.
British Journal of Music Therapy - not available online. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1987 to present. Call number: Periodical ML5.B68
Canadian Journal of Music Therapy - fulltext available 2004-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1986-present. Call number: Periodical ML3920.C36
Journal of British Music Therapy - not available online. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1987-1994. Call number: Periodical ML3919.J68
Journal of Music Therapy - fulltext available from 2002-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1976-present. Call number: Periodical ML3920 .J68
Music Education Research - fulltext available from 1999-present (one-year embargo).
Music Educators Journal - back issues available from JSTOR. current Issues available from Sage. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1976-present. Call number: Periodical ML1 .M84
Music Therapy Perspectives - fulltext available from 2004-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 1989-present. Call number: Periodical ML3920 .M8995
Music Therapy Today (ejournal) - fulltext available from 2000-2008.
New Zealand Journal of Music Therapy - fulltext available from 2010-present.
Nordic Journal of Music Therapy - fulltext available 1997-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 2003-present. Call number: Periodical ML3920 .N67
Psychology of Music - fulltext available from 1999-present. Paper copies available in Lesley Library from 2003-present. Call number: Periodical ML5 .P82
Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy - fulltext available from 2002-present.
Featured Resources
The Sherrill Library has a special resource for educators, therapists, counselors to use called the Teaching Resource Center, which is a collection of manipulatives, textbooks, picture books, leveled readers and juvenile fiction and non fiction.
The most effective way to search the collection is to go to the FLO catalog, select the "Advanced Search" option and scroll down the "Location" tab option to find "Lesley-Sherrill Teaching Resources Collection". Once you have that highlighted, go back above to the search box and start searching!
Activity ScarvesCall Number: TRC GV452 .A28 2009"Colorful scarves enhance music and movement activities. The bright nylon scarves are lots of fun to wave, toss, and twirl."
Musical InstrumentsCall Number: TRC ML460 .M87 2006"Easy-to-play instruments from around the world. A multicultural collection with 6 differnt instruments from woven Ghanaian rattles and rhythmic Peruvian maracas to a fun, frog-shaped Asian rasp. The instruments are sized for small hand and each is made of authentic, classroom-tough materials."