Primary sources are essential for students and faculty in the History department. This guide is specifically intended to provide pathways to digital primary sources, especially online representations of physical documents and objects.
Full-text coverage of the New York Times. Offers superb coverage of both national and international news. Restricted to Lesley University community.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
1858-1910
This website is a joint venture of the Library of Congress & the NEH. "Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)." The database currently has papers from 25 states and the District of Columbia published between 1836-1922.
A collection of links to transcripts of Civil War Newspapers (1860-1865) from Vicki Betts at the University of Texas at Tyler.
Google partnered "with newspaper publishers and aggregators covering a number of time periods, regions and perspectives." This is a closed collection as of 2011. No new images will be added.
This is a Flickr set of cover pages from the New York Tribune beginning with the year 1909.
"This online database contains over 1 million historical newspaper pages from Stars and Stripes, the independent daily newspaper of the U.S. military. At present the archive includes newspapers published from 1948 through 1999."
1808-1982, from the National Library of Australia
The HathiTrust Digital Library is home to millions of digitized books and publications. Our team works diligently alongside research institutions to preserve and grow this collection while providing lawful access to visitors around the world.
Boston Public Library Archives and Special Collections:
Contains descriptions and inventories of the archival collections held by Boston Public Library and the Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education Center.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
A non-ministerial department, and the official archive and publisher for the UK Government, and for England and Wales.
The Endangered Archives Programme captures forgotten and still not written histories, often suppressed or marginalised. It gives voice to the voiceless: it opens a dialogue with global humanity’s multiple pasts. It is a library of history still waiting to be written.”
Lisbet Rausing, Co-founder of the Endangered Archives Programme
Gallica:BnF: (in French, can translate to English)
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partners. Online since 1997, it is enriched every week with thousands of new features and now offers access to several million documents.
Porter Campus
1801 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02140
617-349-8070
South Campus
89 Brattle Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
617-349-8850