Key Books
@ Is for Activism by @ is For Activism examines the transformation of politics through digital media, including digital television, online social networking and mobile computing.
America Through the Eyes of China and India by America Through the Eyes of China and India explores the dynamics of television, identity, and cultural communication, providing a new lens for encountering, interpreting, and judging American culture and the American identity.
The Art of Global Thinking by The Art of Global Thinking shows how the ancient myths from the hunting societies of the West and the planting societies of the East have been transformed to today's corporate boardroom and business practices.
A handbook for counseling international students in the United States by The Handbook provides a detailed look at the lives of international students and the personal and academic challenges they face before, during, and after their college experience.
Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication by This Second Edition illustrates how the field is composed and looks at how it has grown. The four parts examine: cross-cultural communication; intercultural communication; international communication; and development communication.
Leading with Cultural Intelligence by Packed with practical tools, research, and case studies, Leading with Cultural Intelligence breaks new ground, offering today's global workforce a specific, four-step model to becoming more adept at managing across cultures: Drive--show the interest and confidence to adapt cross-culturally Knowledge--understand how differences such as religion, family, education, legal, and economic influences affect the way people think and behave Strategy--monitor, analyze, and adjust plans in unfamiliar cultural setting Action--choose the right verbal and nonverbal behaviors, depending on context.
Maya Medicine by This account of the practice of traditional Maya medicine examines the work of curers in Piste, Mexico, a small town in the Yucatan Peninsula near the ruins of Chichen Itza.
Understanding Arabs by The Fifth Editon of the highly successful guide to arab society - publishing in line with the Arab Spring. The perfect introduction to contemporary Arab culture for those who want to understand today's headlines and the complex events playing out on the world stage.
Selected Resources
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Migration Policy InstituteMPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the rising demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world.
- Office of Workplace DiversityThe Federal Communications Commission's Office of Workplace Diversity web site "addresses diversity, EEO (equal employment opportunity), and affirmative employment matters."
- Pew Research CenterThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
- Teaching ToleranceThis website focuses on what parents and teachers can do to promote tolerance. From the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.
- Yearbook of United NationsThe Yearbook is the principal reference work on the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's concerns and activities. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions.