In honor of International Year for Biodiversity, Oxford University Press makes conservation biology textbook by some of the world's most prominent ecologists and conservation biologists available as free download
Think About This:
Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you.
~ Frank Lloyd Wright
Beyond Penguins and Polar Bears is an online magazine integrating science, literacy, and the polar regions.
The EHP Science Education Program promotes environmental health science as an integrative context for learning to promote students' use and understanding of scientific literature. The objective of the EHP Science Education Program is to inspire high school and undergraduate students to pursue careers in environmental health science. We do this by using current, credible environmental health information to teach students about the interconnection between their health and the world around them.
GLOBE (Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment) is a worldwide hands-on, primary and secondary school-based science and education program. GLOBE's vision promotes and supports students, teachers and scientists to collaborate on inquiry-based investigations of the environment and the Earth system working in close partnership with NASA and NSF Earth System Science Projects (ESSPs) in study and research about the dynamics of Earth's environment.
NAAEE is the professional association for environmental education. Our members promote professional excellence in nonformal organizations, K-12 classrooms, universities (both instructors and students), government agencies, and corporate settings throughout North America and in over 55 other countries. Since 1971, the Association has created opportunities for its members to improve their skills in creating and delivering programs and services that teach people how to think, not what to think.
The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies is dedicated to the creation, dissemination and application of knowledge about ecological systems. This knowledge is created through scientific research, disseminated through teaching, writing, and exhibits, and applied through participation in decision-making regarding the ecological management of natural resources and through promotion of a broader awareness about the importance of ecological relationships to human welfare.
This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management from Abatement to Zooplankton. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader.
"Discovery News reports on the science that matters to everyday life. Science isn't static. It's always evolving, and our coverage is a journey for the everyman into what makes our times so exciting. Discovery News is intelligent, humorous, at times irreverent – a destination for the curious. Discovery News: We dig. You discover."
Provides issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. Written by experts from incredibly diverse fields.
HERO contains the key studies EPA uses to develop environmental risk assessments for the public. EPA uses risk assessments to characterize the nature and magnitude of health risks to humans and the ecosystem from pollutants and chemicals in the environment.
The Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) is a human health assessment program that evaluates quantitative and qualitative risk information on effects that may result from exposure to environmental contaminants. IRIS was initially developed for EPA staff in response to a growing demand for consistent information on substances for use in risk assessments, decision-making, and regulatory activities. The information in IRIS is intended for those without extensive training in toxicology, but wit
Welcome to NatureServe Explorer, an authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
"Terms of Environment" defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications, news releases, and other Agency documents available to the general public, students, the media, and Agency employees.
This site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 35,000 digital titles, free of charge! EPA’s print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA's digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database! You can search and retrieve, download, print and/or order only EPA publications from this site.
Founded in Boston, MA in 1998, the Urban Ecology Institute (UEI) aims to promote the health of urban ecosystems through research, education, and community action. UEI helps urban communities build healthy and vibrant cities by educating students and other residents about their neighborhood environments, connecting them to each other, and engaging them in the transformation of their communities into healthy places where people want to live.