Biology

Wildlife films and photos are vital weapons in the battle to save the world's endangered biodiversity from the brink of extinction.

So, with the help of the world’s best filmmakers, photographers, conservationists and scientists, ARKive is creating the ultimate multimedia guide to the world's endangered species.

This BBC website provides information and rich experiences to support the programmes they broadcast.

BiologyBrowser brings together a unique set of opportunities for scientists, and includes:
* Links to relevant scientific digital resources (Scientific data sets, Images, Videos, Web pages, etc.)
* Current science news stories
* Relevant web sites
* Images

The Species 2000 & ITIS Catalogue of Life is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. Rapid progress has been made recently and this Catalogue of Life edition contains 1,314,342 species. Please note that this is probably just slightly over 2/3 of the world's known species. This means that for many groups it continues to be deficient, and users will notice that many species are still missing from the Catalogue.

The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.

CELLS alive! represents 30 years of capturing film and computer-enhanced images of living cells and organisms for education and medical research.

The Encyclopedia of Life will be an online reference and database on all 1.9 million species currently known to science and will stay current by capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species. The Encyclopedia will help all of us better understand life on our planet.

The goal of this project is to use molecular illustration and animation to help describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. Illustrations and animations may be downloaded in the Resources for Educators section.

By bringing together all types of information about species distributions, providing model-based integration, and providing a system for users to build upon our knowledge, the Map of Life project hopes to support our community in understanding and saving the world's biodiversity.

A free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics, the study of evolution, variation, and the rich complexity of living organisms.

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is a bureau within the Department of the Interior. Its mission is to work with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.

Vadlo is brought to you by two biology scientists who wish to make it easier to locate biology research related information on the web. Vadlo search engine caters to all branches of life sciences. VADLO allows users to search within five categories: Protocols, Online Tools, Seminars, Databases and Software.

Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions joined together to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are developing a strategy and operational plan to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections and make it available through a global “biodiversity commons.” The digitized texts are being archived here.

To improve access to scientific literature, we have created Botanicus, a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of digitized historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Go Botany is a four-year project funded by the National Science Foundation. This web-based project builds on the Flora Novae Angliae by Arthur Haines, the first comprehensive scientific reference on the region's plant species to be published in the last 25 years.

The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). “America” is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included.

Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1107 North American nurseries for 109886 plants, find 384455 citations to 149892 plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about 18551 plants, and access information on 2518 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.

The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. Version 1 aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).

Collaboration between the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden enabled the creation of The Plant List by combining multiple checklist data sets held by these institutions and other collaborators.

Horticultural and crop science data, images and web resources from the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, The Ohio State University.

The Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference Collection project is the result of a 2008-2009 University of Miami Libraries Digital Fellowship awarded to Barbara Whitlock, Associate Professor in Biology.

The latest bird information, educational and citizen-science opportunities, and stories from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

"Discovery News reports on the science that matters to everyday life. Science isn't static. It's always evolving, and our coverage is a journey for the everyman into what makes our times so exciting. Discovery News is intelligent, humorous, at times irreverent – a destination for the curious. Discovery News: We dig. You discover."

The complete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography, digitized by the University of Pittsburgh.

The Avian Knowledge Network (AKN) is a partnership of people, institutions and government agencies supporting the conservation of birds and their habitats based on data, the adaptive management paradigm, and the best available science. AKN partners act to improve awareness, purpose, access to, and use of data and tools at scales ranging from individual locations to administrative regions (e.g., management areas, states, countries) and species ranges.

This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.

eBird's goal is to maximize the utility and accessibility of the vast numbers of bird observations made each year by recreational and professional bird watchers. It is amassing one of the largest and fastest growing biodiversity data resources in existence.

The Macaulay Library at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology is the world's largest natural sound and video archive of animal behavior. Its mission is to collect and preserve recordings of each species behavior and natural history and to make them available for research, education, conservation, zoos and aquaria, wildlife managers, publishers, the arts, and both public and commercial media.

Each year, the State of the Birds report provides important scientific data to a broad audience with a call to action to improve the conservation status of birds and the environment.