Biology

A bank of digital resources for teaching biology

The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics. You can find lessons related to biology topics in the links above. Topics include: Ecology, Genetics, Anatomy, Cells, Scientific Method, and Evolution.

Lesson plans for Elementary, Middle and High School students.

Books, kits, models, video recordings and more!

Within the Resources for Science Learning website, users can find online science content, resources and professional development opportunities for educators, and information about CISL initiatives.

This guide lists sources to assist middle-school students and teachers in planning, preparing, and executing science fair projects in biology, natural history, nature study and agriculture.

Aves 3D is a National Science Foundation funded online database of three-dimensional digital surface models of the various bones that make up the skeleton of birds. Aves 3D aims to provide as wide of a representation of living and extinct bird species as possible, and we are adding new scans to the database on a weekly basis.

Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 4.5 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.

FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.

The GB3D Type Fossils Online project, funded by JISC, aims to develop a single database of the type specimens, held in British collections, of macrofossil species and subspecies found in the UK, including links to photographs (including 'anaglyph' stereo pairs) and a selection of 3D digital models.

The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked. IPNI will be a dynamic resource, depending on direct contributions by all members of the botanical community.

The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world's avifauna. It is an on-line audiovisual library of the world's birds that is available to the general public free of charge.

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species. From its small beginning, the IUCN Red List has grown in size and complexity and now plays an increasingly prominent role in guiding conservation activities of governments, NGOs and scientific institutions.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

YouTHERIA is an interactive web portal containing data on the life history, ecology. taxonomy and geography of mammals. The web portal allows contributors (You) to upload and download data on all mammalian species (THERIA).