Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
×

Spring 2021: Sherrill and Moriarty Library are closed as part of the Lesley University COVID-19 response.  Please visit us online through our library website and via our Ask-A-Librarian service,and see our Remote Services Guide.

Native American Studies

Highlighting resources about Native American communities and scholarship. Initially created for the Cultural Literacy Curriculum Institute, Lesley University, 2014. Revised and updated ahead of Native American Heritage Month, 2018.

Digital Collections & Archives

The collections highlighted here include digitized videos, images, paintings and oral history interviews relating to the history of Native American people. Many libraries and archives hold material that is considered to be culturally sensitive, or material of a confidential, sensitive or sacred nature, factors which are not covered by U.S. copyright laws. There are guidelines designed to help facilitate respectful use and dissemination of indigenous materials, including the Protocols for Native American Archival Materials and the Indigenous Digital Archive statement about respectful online access. Collections highlighted here, when applicable, reflect those guidelines and practices for respectful use and access.

DPLA also has an exhibition entitled History of Survivance: Upper Midwest 19th-Century Native American Narratives examining the dominant narratives around Native American history that are often present in archives and museums, looking at the resources in DPLA through a lens of Native American survivance in the Minnesota region.

  • Independent Voices, an Open Access collection of digitized alternative press newspapers and periodicals, includes different Native American publications, including the Native American Rights Fund's NARF Legal Review and Native Movement, a Red Power newsletter out of Vancouver, BC. 

  • The Indigenous Digital Archive is a growing digital archive presented by the Museum of Indian Arts & Culture in New Mexico. It contains over 500,000 archival documents about the Indian boarding schools established by the U.S. government.

  • The Native Americans Oral History Program is a project from the Digital Library of the Caribbean and the University of Florida's Department of History and contains more than 85,000 pages of transcribed material from over 4,000 interviews with Native Americans across over six tribal affiliations. 

  • Woven Into History is a digital public history project at the University of Texas at Austin that highlights the collection of donated 19th and 20th century Navajo rugs. It includes blog posts, lesson plans, and classroom activities in addition to the digital collections.

Google Analytics Usage

Lesley University Library uses Google Analytics to capture and analyze web statistics, which uses cookies. No personal information is stored within cookies. See the Google Privacy Center - Privacy Policy to learn more. To opt-out of Google Analytics, you can install an add-on for your browser.

Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization