Literature Research

Digital images, manuscripts, and letters from Poe that are in the Public Domain.

Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives. This first phase of the EDA includes images for the corpus of poems identified in The Poems of Emily Dickinson: Variorum Edition, edited by R. W. Franklin (Cambridge: Belknap Press of the Harvard University Press, 1998).

Includes online digital collections, and a lecture (audio) by Harvard professor Helen Vendler:
"Emily Dickinson and the Sublime"

Letters, writings, images, and biographies.

The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that includes:
published works, manuscripts, biography, correspondence, criticism, pictures, sound, and teaching resources.

The Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress present a selection of ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited as typescripts in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until they were rediscovered in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection in 1997. The plays reflect Hurston's life experience, travels, and research, especially her study of folklore in the African-Ame

William Faulkner on the Web is an evolving guide to the life and works of William Faulkner by Brevard College professor, John B. Padgett

Collection of literature resources collected by Washington State University professor, Donna M. Cambell. Includes introductory information on American authors and literary movements, plus a timeline.

An online archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

A research and reference guide. Topics include: Puritanism, The Age of Reason, Romanticism, Transcendentalism, Realism, Naturalism, Early 20th C. and Modernism, American Drama, Harlem Renaissance, Late 20th C. and Postmodernism.

National Humanitites Center