Psychology

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.

For more than twenty years, this indispensable resource has been the reference of choice for psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students who need up-to-date and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science.

An exciting reference work which captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980's. The Encyclopedia contains 696 articles covering in depth the entire spectrum of the cognitive sciences.

This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders. Each entry follows a 5 section structure that will cover (1) essential features of the disorder (2) physiological basis of the disorder (3) neuropsychological and other clinical presentation (4) assessment and diagnostic practices (5) evidence-based treatments and interventions.

In the past decade, enormous strides have been made in understanding the human brain. The advent of sophisticated new imaging techniques (e.g. PET, MRI, MEG, etc.) and new behavioral testing procedures have revolutionized our understanding of the brain, and we now know more about the anatomy, functions, and development of this organ than ever before.

This encyclopedia distills an amazing amount of information into a book that is easy to read and navigate√ .This would serve as a great reference for anyone with an interest in depression." Score: 96, 4 stars --Doody's Depression is the second most disabling disorder in the world.

This work traces the origins and evolution of the concept of humor in psychology from ancient to modern times with an emphasis on an experimental/empirical approach to the understanding of humor and sense of humor. In addition to more than 3,000 important citations and references pertaining to the history, theories, and definitions of the concept of humor, this reference guide contains more than 380 recent (post-1970) annotated entries on the psychology of humor in its bibliographic section.

Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.

Over the past decade, forensic psychology has grown rapidly as a subject, with an increasing number of forensic psychologists working in demanding roles in prisons, secure training facilities, and high, medium and low security healthcare facilities as well as other parts of the criminal justice system.

In attempting to understand and explain various behaviour, events, and phenomena in their field, psychologists have developed and enunciated an enormous number of 'best guesses' or theories concerning the phenomenon in question.

About the Book: This book will prove beneficial for psychology & medical undergraduate and postgraduate students. Also it is useful for civil service aspirants and students preparing for various other competitive examinations. This dictionary is specifically written in a simple language for easy grasping of psychology and allied sciences.