Alumni/ae Author Collection at the Sherrill Library
For a complete list of titles search the FLO Online Catalog, under Subject Heading:
Collection Policy
The Lesley University Library welcomes for inclusion in the Sherrill Library Alumni/ae Collection books and other materials published by Lesley University alumni. The Library may ask to review material prior to acceptance. Materials in poor condition and multiple copies are not appropriate for the collection. The Library reserves the right to refuse an offer of material that is already held in the collections or is not in keeping with the University’s mission to prepare “socially responsible graduates with the knowledge, skills, understanding and ethical judgment to be catalysts shaping a more just, humane, and sustainable world.” Materials donated to the Alumni/ae Collection must be created (wholly or in part) by a Lesley University graduate.
Donations are accepted with the understanding that the materials become the property of the Library. In order to ensure maximum accessibility of library resources, donors are asked not to request restrictions on housing, access, processing, or related matters.
Under federal tax regulations, the Library cannot give appraisals or estimates of value for donors. Valuation is the responsibility of the donor. Since tax laws change from time to time, donors are encouraged to consult the IRS or a knowledgeable tax expert about current requirements.
Lesley University alumni/ae should contact the Lesley University Alumni Office to inquire about donating their publications to the collection.
Collection Overview
The Sherrill Library Alumni/ae Collection reflects the achievements of Lesley graduates who are working professionals, scholars, and artists. The Collection showcases published work by teachers, therapists, novelists, essayists, poets, and children’s authors. Begun in 2013, the Collection is a collaboration between the Lesley University Alumni Office and the Sherrill Library. Each year the Lesley Alumni Office accepts donations of single copies of published work by Lesley graduates. The Alumni/ae Collection is located on the lower Level of the Sherrill Library, South Campus.
Lesley University alumni/ae should contact the Lesley University Alumni Office to inquire about donating their publications to the collection.
Selections from the Collection
Becoming a Great School by Call Number: Lesley Alumni/ae LB2822.8 .C68 2014ISBN: 9781475806953Publication Date: Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2013.In education we are working on behalf of a truly noble cause: the lives of our students. We need a system for working together that is worthy of the work and one that harnesses the idealistic visions and inherent energies that brought us to education in the first place. Becoming A Great School prepares you to create that system. The authors challenge top-down leadership as a vestige of the past which fails to fully engage today's teaching professionals.
Hanging In by Call Number: Lesley Alumni/ae LC4802 .B46 2014ISBN: 9781416617556Publication Date: ASCD, 2014This book uses real-life examples to show how educators can marshal empathy and patience to support the learning of students with behavioral difficulties in the classroom.
Look Up! by Call Number: Lesley Alumni/ae QL677.5 .C38 2013ISBN: 9780763645618Publication Date: Candlewick Press, 2013A 2014 Robert F. Sibert Honor Book You don't have to own binoculars and know a bunch of fancy Latin names to watch birds! This conversational, humorous introduction to bird-watching encourages kids to get outdoors with a sketchbook and really look around. Interactive and enjoyable tips bring an age-old hobby to new life for the next generation of bird-watchers.
