Astronomy / Earth Science / Oceanography

The Census of Marine Life was coordinated by a Secretariat based at the Consortium for Ocean Leadership in Washington, D.C. and governed by an international Scientific Steering Committee. Thirteen National and Regional Implementation Committees worked under the guidance of the international Scientific Steering Committee and served to strengthen the global reach of the Census in support of marine biodiversity research.

NOAA's mission is to understand and predict changes in Earth’s environment and conserve and manage coastal and marine resources to meet our Nation’s economic, social, and environmental needs

"The NOAA Fisheries Office of Habitat Conservation protects, restores, and promotes stewardship of coastal and marine habitat to support our nation's fisheries for future generations.

"Our vision is healthy and sustainable habitat that provides a range of benefits for abundant fish and wildlife, commercial and recreational opportunities, and resilient coastal communities that can withstand hurricanes, flooding, and other threats."

NOAA Ocean Explorer is an educational Internet offering for all who wish to learn about, discover, and virtually explore the ocean realm. It provides public access to current information on a series of NOAA scientific and educational explorations and activities in the marine environment.

NOAA's National Ocean Service (NOS) is the nation's premier science agency for oceans and coasts.

Our nation's coastal ecosystems are vital to our economy and quality of life; however, the health of these resources is in decline. Explore this site to gain a deeper appreciation of the connections among healthy coastal ecosystems, a robust U.S. economy, a safe population, and a sustainable quality of life for coastal residents... and the consequent need to better understand, manage, and protect our nation's coastal resources.

Ocean Planet, premiered at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History from April 1995 to April 1996, where it attracted nearly two million visitors. This electronic online companion exhibition contains all of the text and most of the panel designs and images found in the traveling exhibition.

Welcome to the Ocean Portal – a unique, interactive online experience that inspires awareness, understanding, and stewardship of the world’s Ocean, developed by the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of Natural History and more than 20 collaborating organizations.

SeaWeb is an international, nonprofit, communications organization dedicated to creating a culture of ocean conservation. We work collaboratively to inform and empower diverse ocean voices and conservation champions in strategic, targeted sectors to encourage market solutions, policies and behaviors that result in a healthy thriving ocean.

The International Programme on the State of the Ocean (IPSO) was established by scientists with the aim of saving the Earth and all life on it.

The UN Atlas of the Oceans is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. It is designed for policy-makers who need to become familiar with ocean issues and for scientists, students and resource managers who need access to databases and approaches to sustainability. The UN Atlas can also provide the ocean industry and stakeholders with pertinent information on ocean matters.

A repository for the Woods Hole Scientific Community

Here you will find classroom activities supporting core curriculum topics in the sciences.

Online since 1993, the Exploratorium was one of the first science museums to build a site on the World Wide Web.

Imagine the Universe! is a service of the High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC), Dr. Alan Smale (Director), within the Astrophysics Science Division (ASD) at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.

The Lunar and Planetary Institute is a research institute that provides support services to NASA and the planetary science community, and conducts planetary science research under the leadership of staff scientists, visiting researchers, and postdoctoral fellows. MyMoon is one of the LPI projects.

The National STEM Distributed Learning (NSDL) program is a national network dedicated to advancing STEM teaching and learning for all learners in both formal and informal settings. NSDL receives the majority of its funding through the generous support of the National Science Foundation’s Division of Undergraduate Education (DUE), Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR).

An interactive timeline and articles chosen from among the 60,000 that have appeared in the Royal Society’s journals

The mission of Understanding Science is to provide a fun, accessible, and free resource that accurately communicates what science is and how it really works.

An Atlas of the Universe consists of a series of interactive 3-D maps of the universe. The smallest shows stars within 12.5 light years of the sun; each subsequent map expands until the limit of the universe is reached. Below each map are additional maps and links to relevant data, catalogs, etc.

The ComPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.

"HubbleSite is the home of NASA's Hubble Space Telescope, the renowned orbiting telescope whose discoveries have forever altered our knowledge of the universe."

NASA Images was created through a partnership between NASA and the Internet Archive, a non-profit digital library based in San Francisco, to bring public access to NASA's image, video, and audio collections in a single, searchable resource.

The NASA Science Web page is produced by NASA's Science Mission Directorate (SMD), which "sponsors scientific research and develops and deploys satellites and probes" in conjunction with worldwide partners.

The site itself features news, blogs, video podcasts, audio podcasts, images, videos and more. Web 2.0 collaborative tools, such as the ranking of different services according to popularity, help the user to sift constructively through the wealth of information available and will promote interactions within the astronomy multimedia community.

Zoom from the edge of the universe to the quantum foam of spacetime and learn about everything in between.

The Climate TimeLine Information Tool is designed as an interactive matrix to allow users to examine climatic information at varying scales through time. Beginning with the daily cycle of Earth's rotation on its axis, the Climate Timeline moves logarithmically using the powers of ten from the daily cycle on its axis and annual cycle around the sun to 100,000 year timescales and beyond.

The Earth Exploration Toolbook is a collection of computer-based Earth science activities. Each activity, or chapter, introduces one or more data sets and an analysis tool that enables users to explore some aspect of the Earth system.

The website for Earth Science reference data and models.

Freshwater Ecoregions of the World, (FEOW) provides a new global biogeographic regionalization of the Earth's freshwater biodiversity.

The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about climate and the environment that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and climate models.

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Central Regional Library maintains a collection of over 400,000 photographs taken during geologic studies of the United States and its territories from 1868 to the present.

These images provide a visual history of the discovery, development, and sciences of the United States and its Geological Survey. Some photographs have been used in USGS publications, but most have never been published.