Art Based Research

The first methods handbook devoted solely to arts-based research (ABR) is now in a thoroughly updated second edition, featuring a new section on global perspectives plus new chapters on critical approaches and documentary film. The volume explores the synergies between contemporary artistic and research practices and addresses issues in designing, implementing, evaluating, and publishing ABR studies. Chapters are written by leading practitioners of each ABR genre, including those based in literature (such as narrative inquiry, fiction, and poetry); performance (music, dance, ethnodrama); visual arts (drawing, painting, collage, installation art, comics); and audiovisual and multimethod approaches.

This book delves into the complexities of being and becoming an academic in higher education. Inspired by the arts, the book introduces new voices and insights to scholarly discussions about what constitutes data and analysis in higher education research. It demonstrates ABER's ability to shape and critique academic identity narratives in response to pressing problems and dilemmas in higher education.

Arts-Based Research Methods for Educational Researchers is a book for early-career and established scholars who aim to use the arts to spark new ideas and empower participants in educational research. It will allow readers to conduct arts-based research and phenomenography research in their own projects. The book starts with a brief history of the arts in research, going on to provide an in-depth understanding of the philosophical foundations of arts-based research - different research designs, material preparation, ethical considerations, data collection, analysis and reporting. Chapters highlight the impact of arts-based research, how it can be used to facilitate positive changes in educational research, practice, and policymaking.

This book offers reflections from Arts-Based Educational Research (ABER) scholars who, since 2005, were awarded the American Educational Research Association ABER Special Interest Group's Outstanding Dissertation Award. The book includes essays from ten awardees who, across diverse artistic disciplines, share how their ABER careers evolve and succeed—inspiring insights into the possibilities of ABER. It also examines the essential role of mentorship in the academy that supports and expands ABER scholarship.

This book explores and develops critical and creative methods for coming to terms with and finding balance between identity formation and migration across root and adopted cultures." -Geraldine Burke, Researcher and Teacher-Educator at Monash University, Australia. "Dr Wang's book is emergent and of interest to therapists, researchers and those curious about how cultural identity may be affected by immigration, how using arts-based critical autoethnography may facilitate inquiry into subjective topics, and how such inquiries may themselves become healing experiences. Her book meaningfully contributes to explorations of cultural transition, hybridity and blending." -Deborah Green

In company with its sister volume, Arts-Based Research Across Textual Media in Education explores arts-based approaches to research across media, including film and comics-related material, from a variety of geographic locations and across a range of subdisciplines within the field of education. This first volume takes a textual focus, capturing process, poetic, and dramaturgical approaches.

Living through the Covid-19 global pandemic has changed the way that we experience our lives, the way that we relate to one-another, and the way that we engage with the world. Focusing contextually on the initial lockdowns of the pandemic in 2020, this book proposes that art-based research has a central, illuminative role to play in our understanding of unfolding crises. The changes brought on by the global event may not be readily accessible or expressible through traditional academic research.

This book explores the rationale, methodologies, and results of arts-based approaches in social work research today. It is the first dedicated analysis of its kind, providing practical examples of when to choose arts-based research, how the arts are used by social work researchers and integrated with additional methods, and ways to evaluate its efficacy.

"Art As Witness argues for the integration of arts-based research with theology and religious studies to make urgent social justice themes easily accessible for education, advocacy, and public witness. Several case studies engage the arts with immigration, biblical studies, political protest, HIV/AIDS, gender equity, racial justice, and more"-- Provided by publisher.

Focuses on learning through arts-based research as a practice of social justice through which we can reimagine, interrupt, insist and resist as we engage collectively to better understand and rethink social, organisational and societal issues. The result of a multi-year and international research project.

Changing Art into Research: Soliloquy Methodology presents a research methodology that enables inquiry into one's personal experiences in an endeavour to reveal essential commonalities of human experience. Arts-informed research methods are becoming increasingly popular with scholars in Arts, Education and the Social Sciences, but there is often confusion about how to turn arts practice into rigorous inquiry.

To expand the possibilities of "doing arts thinking" from a non-Eurocentric view, Artistic Mentoring as a Decolonizing Methodology: A Collaborative Painting Ethnography with Maya Artists Pedro Rafael González Chavajay and Paula Nicho Cúmez is grounded in Indigenous perspectives on arts practice, arts research, and art education. Mentored in painting for eighteen years by two Guatemalan Maya artists, Kryssi Staikidis, a North American painter and art education professor, uses both Indigenous and decolonizing methodologies, which involve respectful collaboration, and continuously reexamines her positions as student, artist, and ethnographer searching to redefine and transform the roles of the artist as mentor, historian/activist, ethnographer, and teacher. The primary purpose of the book is to illuminate the Maya artists as mentors, the collaborative and holistic processes underlying their painting, and the teaching and insights from their studios.

Jungian Arts-Based Research and "The Nuclear Enchantment of New Mexico" provides clear, accessible and in-depth guidance both for arts-based researchers using Jung's ideas and for Jungian scholars undertaking arts-based research. The book provides a central extended example which applies the techniques described to the full text of Joel Weishaus' prose poem The Nuclear Enchantment of New Mexico, published here for the first time.

This book can be viewed as a series of investigations into the ongoing imbrications of the practices of art, ethics and education as conducted within each author's specific context of practice as artist, educator, researcher. It constitutes an international anthology of explorations that are by no means exclusive but conscious of the ongoing iterations, mutations and individuations of relations between art, ethics and education, which, in turn, seek to expand how we might conceive these terms as practices.

In recent years, the rise of research-creation--a scholarly activity that considers art practices as research methods in their own right--has emerged from the organic convergences of the arts and interdisciplinary humanities, and it has been fostered by universities wishing to enhance their public profiles. In How to Make Art at the End of the World Natalie Loveless draws on diverse perspectives--from feminist science studies to psychoanalytic theory, as well as her own experience advising undergraduate and graduate students--to argue for research-creation as both a means to produce innovative scholarship and a way to transform pedagogy and research within the contemporary neoliberal university. Championing experimental, artistically driven methods of teaching, researching, and publication, research-creation works to render daily life in the academy more pedagogically, politically, and affectively sustainable, as well as more responsive to issues of social and ecological justice.

Bridging the gap between academic parlance and arts-based inquiry, this unique text presents a socio-affective exploration of educational leadership. The text challenges inherited ideological and normative assumptions and invites its reader to reimagine leadership as a dynamic, emotional, and relational process.

Using Art as Research in Learning and Teaching explores various multidisciplinary visual and performing art forms, including creative writing, as ways to provide a rich contribution and understanding to research, learning, and teaching. Key figures in the field share their art-based research, arts practice, and philosophy, bringing the arts to life within their taught and learned contexts across a variety of art forms and levels of post-compulsory education.

Bringing together interdisciplinary leaders in methodology and arts-based research (ABR), this comprehensive handbook explores the synergies between artistic and research practices and addresses issues in designing, implementing, evaluating, and publishing ABR studies. Coverage includes the full range of ABR genres, including those based in literature (such as narrative and poetic inquiry); performance (music, dance, playbuilding); visual arts (drawing and painting, collage, installation art, comics); and audiovisual and multimethod approaches.

This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section.

This book provides a thought-provoking guide to conducting collaborative arts-based research. Focusing on ways that social inquiry might be conducted with marginalised groups to promote social justice.

The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. The contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers in the field as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers.

This book examines the experiences of four Conservatory style trained actors, who go onto complete teacher education programs. In keeping with a/r/tography this research uses social science methods and creative methods of data collection. Interviews and reflective writing about the participant's educational and experiential backgrounds are complimented by the writing of monologues.

A provocative book, an important book! jagodzinski's and Wallin's 'betrayal' is in fact a wake-up call for art-based research, a loving critique of its directions. jagodzinski's and Wallin's reference is the question 'what art can do' - not what it means.

Arts Based Research is ideal for students, researchers, and practitioners. This unique book provides a framework for broadening the domain of qualitative inquiry in the social sciences by incorporating the arts as a means of better understanding and rethinking important social issues.

Artist Scholar: Reflections on Writing and Research is part history, introduction and discussion for artists and designers entering, graduating and employed by the contemporary art academy in the United States. The evolution of art education in the university continues to expand in the twenty-first century as the variables of craft, skill, technique, theory, history and criticism shift and expand as the perspective of arts-based research is introduced into this professionalized environment.

This book explores the experiential research methods (arts-based, reflexative, collaborative) that allow researchers to access their own and their participants' knowing in richer ways. It comprises chapters on innovative methods of research and analysis using literary forms, performance and visual arts, and through collaborative and interdisciplinary inquiry.

This book presents the first comprehensive introduction to arts-based research (ABR) practices, which scholars in multiple disciplines are fruitfully using to reveal information and represent experiences that traditional methods cannot capture. Each of the six major ABR genres--narrative inquiry, poetry, music, performance, dance, and visual art--is covered in chapters that introduce key concepts and tools and present an exemplary research article by a leading ABR practitioner.

The Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Inquiry: Perspectives, Methodologies, Examples, and Issues represents an unfolding and expanding orientation to qualitative social science research that draws inspiration, concepts, processes, and representational forms from the arts. In this defining work, J. Gary Knowles and Ardra L. Cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of the past, present, and future of arts-based research.

Learning in and through the arts can develop complex and subtle aspects of the mind, argues Elliot Eisner in this engrossing book. Offering a rich array of examples, he describes different approaches to the teaching of the arts and shows how these refine forms of thinking that are valuable in dealing with our daily life.

Art therapy and all of the other creative arts therapies have promoted themselves as ways of expressing what cannot be conveyed in conventional language. Why is it that creative arts therapists fail to apply this line of thinking to research? In this exciting and innovative book, Shaun McNiff, one of the field's pioneering educators and authors, breaks new ground in defining and inspiring art-based research.

The new practice of art-based research uses art making as a primary mode of enquiry rather than continuing to borrow research methodologies from other disciplines to study artistic processes. Drawing on contributions from arts therapies, education, history, organizational studies, and philosophy, the essays critically examine unique challenges that include the personal and sometimes intimate nature of artistic enquiry and the complexities of the partnership with social science which has dominated applied arts research; how artistic discoveries are apt to emerge spontaneously, even contrary to plans and what we think we know; how truth can be examined through both fact and fiction as well as the interplay of objective and subjective experience; and ways of generating artistic evidence and communicating outcomes.

Arts Based Research is ideal for students, researchers, and practitioners. This unique book provides a framework for broadening the domain of qualitative inquiry in the social sciences by incorporating the arts as a means of better understanding and rethinking important social issues.

This text introduces readers to definitions and examples of arts-based educational research, presents tensions and questions in the field, and provides exercises for practice. It weaves together critical essays about arts-based research in the literary, visual, and performing arts with examples of artistic products of arts-based research (arts for scholarship's sake) that illuminate by example.

Ten transformative local arts projects come alive in this illustrated training manual for youth leaders and teachers. This energetic guidebook demonstrates the enormous power of art in grass-roots social change.

This is an important new resource in qualitative research methods and educational research. This benchmark work gives readers a solid understanding of qualitative research and evaluation, and its great promise for evaluating and guiding educational practice.