@LL Search
Search
Finding Arts Based Research
How can I find Art Based Research?
There's a few ways to search for Art Based Research. You can try searching for sources by using keywords like "art based research" or "art based inquiry" AND a specific expressive therapy modality. (Please refer to the list of potential keywords below to help with your searching.)
Click the image above (or here) to see search results in the database: All Search.
Or you can search for ABR by searching for "arts based research" or art based inquiry" AND specific interventions or methods.
Click the image above (or here) to see search results in the database: All Search.
Getting Started: Keywords for Research
Partial Lexicon for Arts Based Research
Which term(s) should I use to search for Arts Based Research?
Arts Based Research (ABR) can be found using many different terms. Below is a working list of the different terms used to describe the use of art and art-making in the research process. Searching for ABR will be a bit of trial-and-error to find the 'best' term(s) for your research topic.
How can I tell if this article uses Art Based Research?
Let's use the article: Deeping reflexivity through art in learning qualitative research as an example. The title alone doesn't tell the reader if this article uses Art Based Research methods. So let's do some investigating:
Begin by checking the Record Page for the article. The Record Page holds information about the article but not necessarily the article itself. Check the Record Page for clues.
- Check the 'Source' (the journal in which the article was originally published). Does the journal publish art based research content?
- Check the Keywords (if applicable). Are there keywords that demonstrate artistic methods where used?
- Check the Subjects. Has the article been 'tagged' with terms that demonstrate artistic methods were used?
- Check the Methodology (if applicable). Art Based Research is qualitative research. Has the article been deemed a qualitative study?
Let's use the article: Deeping reflexivity through art in learning qualitative research as an example. The title alone doesn't tell the reader if this article uses Art Based Research methods. So let's do some investigating:
Next we can read the abstract. The abstract will summarize the hypothesis, methodology, and important findings. This is a great place to check to see if there is any mention of Art Based practices and other keywords.
Let's use the article: Deeping reflexivity through art in learning qualitative research as an example. The title alone doesn't tell the reader if this article uses Art Based Research methods. So let's do some investigating:
Next we can read the methodology section of the article. The methodology section will describe how the original research was conducted. Read this section to see if any Art Based interventions were used.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Specialized)
- Alexander Street Video Academic Video Online (AVON), also referred to as Alexander Street Video, is a multidisciplinary database offering access to tens of thousands of full-length streaming video titles including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and more. Videos are transcribed in addition to being indexed for subjects, people, places, release date, language, publisher, and video type.
- BioMed Central Journals BioMed Central (BMC) contains 300 peer-reviewed journals in the fields of science, technology, engineering and medicine, all of which are open access immediately upon publication.
- Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, & Reference Works Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a biweekly basis.
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5-TR The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5-TR) is the most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistic Manual of Mental Disorders, a diagnostic tool published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). This database includes the DSM-5 and the DSM-5-TR basics, diagnostic criteria and codes, and emerging measures.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Expressive Media New streaming video platform, Expressive Media!
- Gale Health & Wellness Gale Health and Wellness provides full-text access to medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia on a variety of consumer health topics, from current disease and disorder coverage to in-depth information on alternative health practices.
- MEDLINE MEDLINE is a bibliographic database providing citations and abstracts for a wide range of biomedical and health journals, in fields such as nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences and more.
- PsycArticles PsycArticles contains full-texted, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, with more than 200,000 full-text articles.
- PsycBooks PsycBooks offers over 65,000 book chapters and 4,000 peer-reviewed books from the American Psychological Association, with historical titles beginning at 1620 and the most current APA books.
- Psychology & Counseling in Video Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
- Psychotherapy.net Full Collection & Social Work Collection Psychotherapy.net produces and publishes training videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. The library makes available the Full Collection and the Social Work Collection.
- PsycInfo 1887-present PsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- PTSDPubs Formerly the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database, PTSDPubs is an extensive resource on PTSD including articles, journals, and information about tests and measurements. Although produced by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs, PTSDPubs is not limited to PTSD among veterans.
Suggested Databases for Searching (Interdisciplinary)
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- Credo Reference This Collection includes over 1,000 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
- Kanopy Streaming Media Kanopy is a multidisciplinary collection offering a wide range of films, covering psychology, education, human services, and the arts.
- Taylor and Francis Journals Taylor & Francis is a provider of specialist information to the global academic & scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement.