- LGBT Home
- Find Books
- Find Articles
- Encyclopedias, Guides, Handbooks & Dictionaries
- Find Videos
- Fiction
- Arts
- Organizations
- Social Justice
Library & Research Help
- Research Help:
Ask Us! - Email:
asklib@lesley.edu
Guide Author
Search
Use this tool to search multiple information resources (catalog, databases etc) through a single search. Use limits in Advanced Search to focus your results to print, electronic, streaming video or to a specific location.
Featured E-Books
Trans Voices by
Foregrounding the voices of transgender and non-binary people, this honest and insightful book is a compilation of the voices of those who have decided to undergo transition - both male-to-female and female-to-male. Drawing on over one hundred interviews with individuals, the book details the diverse experiences and challenges faced by those who transition, exploring a range of topics such as hormone treatments; reassignment surgeries; coming out; sex and sexuality; physical, emotional and mental health; transphobia; discrimination; and hate crime, as well as highlighting the lives of non-binary individuals and those who cross-dress to form a wider understanding of the varied ways in which people experience gender. This powerful book is an ideal introduction to those keen to understand more about contemporary trans issues as well as those questioning their own gender identity. Bronze Winner for the 2017 Independent Publisher Book Awards in the category of Gay/Lesbian/Bi/Trans Non-Fiction
ISBN: 9781785922404Publication Date: 2017-01-19
Understanding and Teaching U. S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History by
Though largely neglected in classrooms, LGBT history can provide both a fuller understanding of U.S. history and contextualization for the modern world. This is the first book designed for university and high school teachers who want to integrate queer history into the standard curriculum. With its inspiring stories, classroom-tested advice, and rich information, it is a valuable resource for anyone who thinks history should be an all-inclusive story. Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History offers a wealth of insight for teachers. Introductory essays by Leila J. Rupp and Susan K. Freeman make clear why queer history is important and provide global historical context, showing that same-sex sexual desire and gender change are not new, modern phenomena. Teachers in diverse educational settings provide narratives of their experiences teaching queer history. A topical section offers seventeen essays on such themes as sexual diversity in early America, industrial capitalism and emergent sexual cultures, and gay men and lesbians in World War II. Contributors include detailed suggestions for integrating these topics into a standard U.S. history curriculum, including creative and effective assignments. A final section addresses sources and interpretive strategies well-suited to the history classroom. Taken as a whole, Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History will help teachers at all levels navigate through cultural touchstones and political debates and provide a fuller knowledge of significant events in history. "A terrific book for anyone teaching U.S. history to high school or college students. It is designed to explain why, and especially how, educators can integrate LGBT history into their existing courses. The volume contains superb essays by scholars and teachers that speak to pedagogy, sources, and methods, and includes seventeen topical essays that span the breadth of U.S. history, from colonial same-sex experiences to contemporary same-sex marriage."--The American Historian "Designed for teachers of U.S. history, [but] the chapters are so varied that anyone can enjoy reading them."--Out Smart "This book's value lies in being read from cover to cover. Do not dip in and read only what looks up your alley--the complexity and the utility emerge from the whole. . . . Each piece is worth a read, the whole is even more so."--Journal of American History Winner, Lambda Literary Award for LGBT Anthology A Choice Outstanding Academic Book Best Special Interest Books, selected by the Public Library Reviewers Best Special Interest Books, selected by the American Association of School Librarians
ISBN: 9780299302443Publication Date: 2014-12-17
Trans Studies by
Winner of the 2017 Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender Studies from the Center for LGBTQ Studies (CLAGS) From Caitlyn Jenner to Laverne Cox, transgender people have rapidly gained public visibility, contesting many basic assumptions about what gender and embodiment mean. The vibrant discipline of Trans Studies explores such challenges in depth, building on the insights of queer and feminist theory to raise provocative questions about the relationships among gender, sexuality, and accepted social norms. Trans Studies is an interdisciplinary essay collection, bringing together leading experts in this burgeoning field and offering insights about how transgender activism and scholarship might transform scholarship and public policy. Taking an intersectional approach, this theoretically sophisticated book deeply grounded in real-world concerns bridges the gaps between activism and academia by offering examples of cutting-edge activism, research, and pedagogy.
ISBN: 9780813576404Publication Date: 2016-03-22
Streaming Videos
"LGBT Studies in Video (Alexander Street) is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics."
Docuseek also has a collection of 90+ documentaries in their LGBTQ+ Studies collection from a variety of producers such as Good Docs, Icarus Films, and Women Make Movies.
Featured Print Resources
Becoming Nicole by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PEOPLE AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN'S JOURNAL * A STONEWALL HONOR BOOK IN NONFICTION * FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FOR TRANSGENDER NONFICTION The inspiring true story of a transgender girl, her identical twin brother, and an ordinary American family's extraordinary journey to understand, nurture, and celebrate the uniqueness in us all, from the Pulitzer Prize-winning science reporter for The Washington Post When Wayne and Kelly Maines adopted identical twin boys, they thought their lives were complete. But it wasn't long before they noticed a marked difference between Jonas and his brother, Wyatt. Jonas preferred sports and trucks and many of the things little boys were "supposed" to like; but Wyatt liked princess dolls and dress-up and playing Little Mermaid. By the time the twins were toddlers, confusion over Wyatt's insistence that he was female began to tear the family apart. In the years that followed, the Maineses came to question their long-held views on gender and identity, to accept and embrace Wyatt's transition to Nicole, and to undergo an emotionally wrenching transformation of their own that would change all their lives forever. Becoming Nicole chronicles a journey that could have destroyed a family but instead brought it closer together. It's the story of a mother whose instincts told her that her child needed love and acceptance, not ostracism and disapproval; of a Republican, Air Force veteran father who overcame his deepest fears to become a vocal advocate for trans rights; of a loving brother who bravely stuck up for his twin sister; and of a town forced to confront its prejudices, a school compelled to rewrite its rules, and a courageous community of transgender activists determined to make their voices heard. Ultimately, Becoming Nicole is the story of an extraordinary girl who fought for the right to be herself. Granted wide-ranging access to personal diaries, home videos, clinical journals, legal documents, medical records, and the Maineses themselves, Amy Ellis Nutt spent almost four years reporting this immersive account of an American family confronting an issue that is at the center of today's cultural debate. Becoming Nicole will resonate with anyone who's ever raised a child, felt at odds with society's conventions and norms, or had to embrace life when it plays out unexpectedly. It's a story of standing up for your beliefs and yourself--and it will inspire all of us to do the same. Praise for Becoming Nicole "A profoundly moving true story about one remarkable family's evolution."--People "Fascinating and enlightening."--Cheryl Strayed "Exceptional . . . 'Stories move the walls that need to be moved,' Nicole told her father last year. In telling Nicole's story and those of her brother and parents luminously, and with great compassion and intelligence, that is exactly what Amy Ellis Nutt has done."--The Washington Post "If you aren't moved by Becoming Nicole, I'd suggest there's a lump of dark matter where your heart should be."--Jennifer Senior, The New York Times "Extraordinary . . . a wonderful and inspiring story."--Minneapolis Star Tribune "A downright necessary book--and a remarkable act of generosity by the Maines family."--BuzzFeed From the Hardcover edition.
Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 N87 2016ISBN: 9780812995435Publication Date: 2016-06-07That's so gay! : microaggressions and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community by
Call Number: HQ73 .N24 2013- Contemporary Perspectives on Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Identities byCall Number: BF683 .N4 2009
Lesbian and gay parents and their children: research on the family life cycle by
Call Number: HQ75.27 .G65 2010The gay revolution : the story of the struggle by
Call Number: HQ76.8.U5 F33 2015
