Library & Research Help
- Research Help:
Ask Us! - Email:
asklib@lesley.edu
Guide Author
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. It includes full text for over 4,600 publications including 2,800 peer reviewed journals for many academic disciplines.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) indexes information found in journal articles, books, and reports to provide information on education research for teachers, scholars, policymakers and the general public.
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of these issues. Sources are enhanced by multimedia content including podcasts, videos, and interactive graphs.
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowThis database contains more than 5,500 rare primary sources, in addition to millions of periodical and news articles, relating to the people, events and topics that have shaped U.S. history.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: News provides access to over 2,300 major current newspapers from the U.S. as well as select titles from around the world.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database covers a wide spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, and more.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowIssues & Controversies explores and analyzes opposing viewpoints on hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR (short for "Journal Storage") is a digital library including current and back issues of academic journals, books, and other primary sources. JSTOR contains more than 1,900 journals in over 50 disciplines.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is an extensive multidisciplinary database, with over 8,000 full-text titles. Over 160 subjects areas are covered including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
- PsycInfo 1887-present This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo contains more than 4 million bibliographic records for journals, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports. Coverage spans from the 17th century to the present, with publications from more than 50 countries.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowSAGE Journals contains over 1,000 journals in a broad array of subject areas, providing excellent interdisciplinary coverage.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with full text combines SocINDEX's comprehensive abstracting of over 2,000 sociology journals, covering subjects such as abortion, anthropology, criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, social psychology, social work, and more, with full text coverage in over 600 core journals.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal that contains information on more than 80,000 topics from over 170 different industries, including industry reports, infographics, market outlooks and other tools.
Searching for Theses & Dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is a comprehensive source of information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses, spanning from 1743 to the present.
- DigitalCommons@Lesley This link opens in a new windowDigitalCommons@Lesley preserves and promotes the scholarly and creative output of students, faculty, and staff. It includes faculty and student research, university communications and publications, and collections from the university archives.
Newspaper Databases
- Boston Globe 1872-1989 This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Boston Globe 1980-current This link opens in a new windowBoston Globe 1980-current spans more current archives of the Boston Globe, all the way through the current issue.
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: News provides access to over 2,300 major current newspapers from the U.S. as well as select titles from around the world.
- New York Times 1851 - 2016 This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe U.S. "newspaper of record." To register for the NYTimes.com through Lesley, please see our guide at https://research.lesley.edu/newspapers!
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull text of 500+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as the Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Times of London, and the Wall Street Journal, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
Online LGBTQ+ Newspapers
- Bay WindowsBay Windows is an LGBT newspaper, published weekly on Thursdays and Fridays in Boston, Massachusetts, serving the entire New England region of the United States.
- AdvocateThe Advocate is the world's leading source of LGBT news and information. Capturing the political and cultural conversations of the community through award-winning journalism, compelling photography and video and vital commentary, The Advocate defines what it is to be gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender today.
- Washington Blade: American's LGBTQ News SourceThe oldest LGBTQ newspaper in the U.S. covering the latest gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender news in Washington, DC and around the world.
- LGBTQ NationLGBTQ Nation is an online news magazine, reporting on issues relevant to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer community.
- Philadelphia Gay NewsThe Philadelphia Gay News is the area’s largest and oldest publication targeting the LGBTQ+ community. Started in 1976, PGN reaches, builds rapport with and listens to our readers and supporters — as well as our critics.
- Gay City NewsGay City News, the Newspaper Serving Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender New York City, is published by Schneps Media. Founded in 2002, Gay City News is the city’s only LGBTQ newspaper, covering news, politics, health, crime, activism and advocacy, leadership, arts, and events around town. The newspaper and its journalists have been honored with dozens of awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, the New York Press Association, and the National Gay and Lesbian Journalists Association, as well as from civic and community groups.
Featured Electronic Journals
- The Gay & Lesbian Review WorldwideThe Gay & Lesbian Review / Worldwide (The G&LR) is a bimonthly magazine of history, culture, and politics targeting an educated readership of LGBT people, and their allies that publishes essays in a wide range of disciplines as well as reviews of books, movies, and plays.
- Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social ServicesSexual and Gender Diversity in Social Services provides empirical knowledge and conceptual information related to sexual minorities and their social environment. Filled with innovative ideas and resources for the design, evaluation, and delivery of social services for these populations at all stages of life, the journal is a positive influence on the development of public and social policy, programs and services, and social work practice.
- Lesbian NewsMagazine for the lesbian community including news of note, feature articles, commentary, profiles, music, book and movie reviews. Focuses on relationships, lifestyle, social interaction and identity, health, prominent figures, and political issues.