Skip to main content

Access Key Navigation

Summer Reading

A guide for incoming students reading the book Just Kids

Why Databases?

If you're only looking for magazine and journal articles using your usual search engines then you're missing out on a ton on articles you have to pay to read.  Lesley Library pays for subscriptions to journal/magazine databases so you don't have to!

Journal and magazine articles are written by experts in their field, just like books are, but it takes a lot longer to publish a book so journal articles offer the most up-to-date information on a subject.

EBSCOhost is a company that offers a lot of different databases.  Some of them are for specific subjects, like their Art Full Text database, which searches only art journals/magazines.

Academic Search Premier is another EBSCO database that searches a wide variety of journals/magazines. Because it covers a broad range of subjects, it's a good place to go to start your research.


Go to the Academic Search Premier database and try searching for Robert Mapplethorpe.


Notice how the results compare to a Google search.  You have popular news/magazine articles, but you also have in-depth scholarly articles.  For example instead of just finding background info on his life and art, you find articles like "Public Welfare, Artistic Values, and the State Ideology: The Analysis of the 2008 Japanese Supreme Court Obscenity Decision on Robert Mapplethorpe". This would be a more scholarly examination, with a more global perspective than a lot of the stuff you find with Google.


Play around with the search result limiters.  

  • Check off the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box
  • Use the date slider to limit your results to a certain date range
  • Limit your Source Type to just magazines, newspapers, or academic journals

 

Google Analytics Usage

Lesley University Library uses Google Analytics to capture and analyze web statistics, which uses cookies. No personal information is stored within cookies. See the Google Privacy Center - Privacy Policy to learn more. To opt-out of Google Analytics, you can install an add-on for your browser.

Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization