Skip to Main Content

× The Libraries will be closed for Juneteenth on Wednesday, June 19th. Enjoy the holiday!


× Sherrill Library will be closed from May 18 - September 2 due to construction. Services by Appointment: Research Consultations, Library Instruction, Pick Up appointments

Moriarty Library will be open May 28 - August 16, Monday - Thursday from 10am-6pm, Friday from 9am-noon. Closed weekends and holidays.

As always, our web resources are available 24/7. Questions? Our Chat and Ask Us! services are available Monday-Thursday, 10am-6pm and Friday 9am-noon.

Integrated Drama in Education

Resources that support drama-based approaches to education. Includes links to journal articles, books, videos, lesson plans, websites, and presentation tools.

Searching Basics

Search for journal articles in Lesley education databases.

  • Choose keywords that represent the major concepts in your topic.
  • Use AND between keywords to narrow the search with different concepts.
  • Use OR between keywords to broaden the search with similar concepts. 
  • Use * (asterisk) to find words with different endings
    • child* = children, childhood, childish, etc.

ERIC: Search the Database

     Sample Search: drama* AND stud* AND teach*

ProQuest Education Journals: Search the Database

      Sample Search:  drama OR theater OR storytelling AND classroom

BONUS: When you start out typing a keyword, and you place an "OR" after it, the @LL search will automatically offer suggestions for more keywords by autofill!  Neat, huh?

 

Use the Best Search Terms

Let the database thesaurus be your guide!

Many databases offer a Thesaurus or dictionary of subject terms. Look for the link at the top of the database screen.You will also see subject terms on the side of the results screen or on the abstract screen. 

ERIC: Search the Thesaurus

ProQuest Education Journals: Search the Thesaurus