Skip to main content

Access Key Navigation

Self-Service Portal
"What do you need help with today?"

I Am Looking for Newspaper Articles

Newspapers include:

  • Coverage of current or very recent events
  • Eyewitness accounts of an event
  • In-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers)
  • The public's reaction to a specific event or issue
  • The media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue

Many newspapers are on the open Web, but some have paywalls for older issues or offer a limited amount of free access per month.

Accessing newspapers through the Libraries:

Lesley University Library provides online access to many newspapers. Browse our Newspaper Databases or Journals List for specific titles or types of newspapers, like local or historical.

Newspaper articles can also be found in many of the Library's databases through @LL Search by limiting to 'News' (under 'Format' on the search results page):

Newspaper results in @LL Search

Finding Specific Newspaper Articles

Generally, when you are looking for a specific item, it's easiest to search for the title in @LL Search. However, this can be difficult for newspapers articles, because the title in print or online can differ slightly from the title it's listed under in our databases. For example, the New York Times article "Apple Card Investigated After Gender Discrimination Complaints," dated November 10th, is available through the Library's New York Times database, but it is under the title "Apple Card Faces Inquiry After Charge It Is 'Sexist'" and dated November 11th. When looking for a specific newspaper article, try using the Advanced Search and using information such as the author's name, and the date range it was published. This should help locate an article, even if the database title differs from the version online.

Google Analytics Usage

Lesley University Library uses Google Analytics to capture and analyze web statistics, which uses cookies. No personal information is stored within cookies. See the Google Privacy Center - Privacy Policy to learn more. To opt-out of Google Analytics, you can install an add-on for your browser.

Designed and maintained by Lesley University Librarians
Website based on LibGuides 2 Customization